Lost and Found: Ch 4

Title: Lost and Found

Autor: bellamyfraserjonesmaiqu20

Rating: T for now

Word Count: 7,934 / 27,040

Pairing: Bellarke

Read: FF.net AO3 / Tumblr

Story Tag: Tumblr

Summary: Bellamy Blake needs to fix his grades or else he’ll get suspended from the team, Clarke Griffin gets offered an opportunity, if she helps him fix his grades she’ll get one of the coveted spots in one of her dream classes. Will they manage to work together or will they end up killing each other in the process?

AN: Hey guys! I’m sorry for the lateness well you know life got seriously in the way and I had no writing time. How about the new season? It’s seriously great isn’t it? I finally finished this chapter so yey! Hope you all like it! Also thanks to my lovely beta Kate!

Ch 4

“You were pretty great Blake,” Clarke said as he came down from the stage.

“Thanks Princess, are you ready?” he asked.

“Ready for what?” Clarke wondered, confused as Bellamy smirked at her.

“You said if I sang something you would sing with me,” he pointed out.

“It’s true- you did say that,” Wick interjected.

“What would we even sing?” Clarke asked.

“Oh, I’ve got just the song!” Wick exclaimed excitedly then came back a few moments later, “There song is ready.”

“What song is it?” Bellamy asked worriedly, knowing Wick it could be anything.

“I’m sure both of you’ll know it when it starts to play,” Wick told them as Bellamy guided Clarke to the stage.

“Are you ready for this?” Bellamy asked once more.

“Bring it,” Clarke said.

“Oh, by the way, this is the duet version of the song,” Wick told them as the instrumentals to P!nk and Adam Lambert’s Whataya Want From Me started playing.

“My favorite version of the song,” Clarke shouted at Wick who gave her thumbs up while Bellamy laughed at their antics.

Hey, slow it down…Whataya want from me…Whataya want from me,” Clarke started singing and looked at Bellamy.

Yeah, I’m afraid…Whataya want from me… Whataya want from me,” Bellamy sang while trading looks with Clarke, “There might have been a time.. When I would give myself away.. (Ooh) Once upon a time, I didn’t give a damn.”

But now here we are… So whataya want from me… Whataya want from me.”

Just don’t give up… I’m workin’ it out… Please don’t give in…I won’t let you down… It messed me up, need a second to breathe… Just keep coming around… Hey, whataya want from me,” Clarke and Bellamy sang together, their voices blending as one. They sang chorus after chorus looking at each other as if the world had melted away.

Yeah, it’s plain to see, that baby you’re beautiful… And there’s nothing wrong with you,” Bellamy sang, looking into Clarke’s eyes as she echoed his singing.

It’s me, I’m a freak… But thanks for lovin’ me… Cause you’re doing it perfectly,” he sang, looking away for the first time in the song, cursing Wick for his choice of song.

There might have been a time when I would let you slip away. I wouldn’t even try but I think you could save my life!” Bellamy sang with all the emotion in his heart.

He had missed this, the feeling of singing your heart out. Clarke took the lead on the chorus and once again their voices blended together perfectly. Then came the lyric I won’t let you down and Clarke sang it as truthfully as she could while looking at Bellamy. It was powerful and explosive and they wouldn’t have it any other way.

-*-*-*-*-

“That was pretty exhilarating,” Clarke commented as they got off the stage.

“It’s a rush isn’t it?” Bellamy asked.

“Definitely. I’ve never sung in front of a crowd before, I mean there’s the workshops and the drama department at school, but not many go to those things.”

“It’s a great feeling, the only thing I could compare it to is making a touchdown. Although not just any touchdown, the one where there’s seconds on the clock and the other team is coming after you, you’re running and you’ve got the ball and you achieve it in the last second. The team wins and everyone is happy and it was thanks to you. It’s one of the best feelings in the world,” Bellamy stated, getting lost in his words and motioning with his hands then he looked up to see Clarke smiling at him.

“What?” he asked, scratching behind his ear.

“Nothing, it’s just I don’t think I’ve ever seen you so passionate about something.”

“Sorry, I sometimes get lost in it.”

“Don’t apologize, it’s nice,” she said smiling, causing him to smile back.

“Okay, I won’t,” he smirked.

“Good,” she smiled back and they stayed there looking at each other. Before any of them could make a move a ringing broke their moment. It was Clarke’s phone. She looked at it and saw Raven was calling.

“I have to take this call,” Clarke muttered as he nodded.

“Hey Rae how’s the night with the hubby? Are you crying? What happened? Calm down and talk to me… I’ll be there as soon as I can okay?”

“Everything alright?” Bellamy asked.

“I need to get home, something happened between Raven and Finn- couldn’t really understand it,” she said worriedly.

“I’ll take you home,” he told her and Wick looked at them. He got a small bottle of tequila and handed it to Clarke

“Seems like your friend might need it,” Wick responded.

“Thanks, it was a pleasure meeting you. Can you say goodbye to Cal and Sarah for me?”

“Will do, pleasure to meet you too Clarke,” Wick said as Bellamy and Clarke left The 100. Bellamy handed her the helmet and they went towards Raven and Clarke’s apartment. After Clarke told him the way to go of course. Once they got to the apartment building Clarke got off.

“This day was a lot more fun than I expected,” Clarke commented. “Thanks, I needed that.”

“You’re welcome princess, it was fun for me too.”

“I don’t know how things will go here, but there’s a café a couple of blocks from school, we could do the session there?” she asked.

“Yeah, it sounds great, meet you after class?” he responded.

“Definitely, goodnight Bellamy.”

“Night princess,” he said as he took off and she went up the stairs to the apartment.

-*-*-*-*-

“Marcus, did you put Laurie to bed?” Abby asked as Kane came inside the kitchen.

“The little princess is sleeping soundly in her bed,” Kane told her.

“So how was work?” Abby asked.

“Stressful, I forgot how hectic opening a new office could be.”

“You’ll get the hang of it, you know you love the challenge.”

“Yeah, I do. How was the hospital, is Jackson fitting in?” Kane asked. Jackson had followed Abby when she got offered the job of chief resident. He knew Abby loved him like a brother and worried about him.

“He’s doing great. He seems to be finding his footing more here than back there,” Abby mentioned.

“That’s good.”

“Have you spoken to Clarke?” Abby asked.

“Not since we told her we had moved in,” Kane responded.

“So she’s not talking to you either.”

“She is, but if you want to talk to her I recommend a phone or going to see her,” Kane told her. “She’s your daughter Abby.”

“She likes you more.”

“Only because I’m Switzerland; you two need to talk and you know it.”

“Yeah, I know, but I don’t know what to say.”

“Maybe actually listen to her actual words not what you think she’s saying.”

“I thought you were Switzerland,” she said smiling.

“I am,” Kane smiled. “Have an early morning tomorrow goodnight darling.”

“Goodnight.”

-*-*-*-*-

Clarke walked into her apartment to find Raven on the couch cuddled by blankets.

“Rae what happened?” she said, sitting down next to her friend.

“We had a big fight,” Raven stated.

“What about?”

“Remember how I couldn’t go to that party over the weekend because I had to work on a project?”

“Yeah, Octavia and I stayed here to help you with it, or rather provided moral support,” Clarke remembered. Raven had been so close to giving up saying it was impossible and they were in charge of making sure that didn’t happen.

“He claimed he had gone to the party but left early,” Raven started.

“What happened?” Clarke asked, although she had a feeling where this was going.

“Apparently he was drunk and she looked like me,” Raven muttered.

“Oh Rae.”

“One night, one stupid party… And he slept with someone else!  Maybe we hadn’t been dating long but I thought we had something special you know?” Raven murmured through her tears. Clarke’s heart broke for her friend and it made her kind of want to punch Finn Collins.

“What are you going to do?” Clarke asked.

“I don’t know, I really liked him Griff.”

“I know sweetie, I know,” Clarke said, trying to comfort her friend. Raven always did this, she always gave her heart to guys who didn’t deserve it. Clarke had thought this time was different but Finn Collins was apparently just like the rest. She then remembered Wick’s parting gift, got it out of the bag, and handed her the small bottle.

“Where did you get this?” Raven asked.

“Don’t ask, you need it more than I do,” she responded as she Raven opened it up.

“Men suck,” Raven declared, and Clarke just nodded as a text came in.

“Is that O?” Raven asked without looking at Clarke’s phone.

“Yeah, she wanted to check up on you,” Clarke said,  telling a little white lie. It was someone checking up on her, it wasn’t Octavia though, but rather the other Blake.

“Raven okay?”

“She will be, your friend is a cheating ass.”

“He cheated? Asshole” 

“You’re not gonna defend your friend?” she texted, surprised he wasn’t going to defend Finn.

Hey he chose to make this bed now he has lie in it.” 

“I’m pretty sure that’s not how the saying goes,” she texted back, smiling a bit.

Probably not  😛

“I have to go, Raven needs me.”

Of course Princess, Goodnight.”

“Goodnight, Mr. Quarterback,” she texted, before setting the phone down and going to see if her friend needed anything. It was going to be a long night.

-*-*-*-*-

Bellamy smiled as he put the phone away. The banter he had with Clarke had shifted and he wasn’t sure whether that was good or bad, but he was dying to find out.

“So was that tutor girl?” Wick asked.

“Tutor Girl?” Bellamy retorted as he started putting chairs on tables, “that’s the best you could come up with?”

“It’s late,” he replied, smiling while he cleaned the bar.

“Are you staying here tonight?” Cal asked, coming to help with closing up. They had called last call a few minutes ago and the last people were leaving.

“Yeah, if that’s okay,” Bellamy said.

“You know this place is yours for whenever you want it,” Cal stated.

“I know… And I’m sorry I haven’t been around much- homecoming is coming up.”

“Oh right, the day the alumni come and marvel at your greatness,” Wick smirked.

“Don’t remind me,” Bellamy stated, his voice betraying his nerves.

“Hey don’t listen to him, it will be great… So far you’ve won every game- there’s not much to worry about,” Cal told him, calming Bellamy’s nerves.

“Thanks, dad,” he said softly.

“Don’t mention it. Now I know the idiot here means well, but in his own weird way what I think he’s trying to say is that we liked Clarke,” Cal commented as Wick looked offended at being called an idiot

“She’s a good influence on you Bell,” Sarah said, coming up to them, “I liked her and she’s really pretty.”

“Don’t start,” Bellamy warned.

“I’m just saying,” Sarah stated.

“We’re just friends… Hell we’re barely friends.”

“Sure you are…” Wick muttered.

“We all saw that performance Bell,” Sarah told him as Wick and Cal made themselves scarce. Sarah looked like she was going to have one of those talks with her surrogate son.

“It’s not like that…you know I don’t date, it’s too messy , onenighters are easier.”

“If you say so, but honey, I think you should give yourself a chance,” Sarah said, standing in front of him.

“Ma,” he whined.

“I know why you’re like this and I understand it, it’s the wall.”

“The wall?” Bellamy asked.

“That wall around your heart. The wall you created to stop people from getting too close, to prevent yourself from the hurt. But you know something?”

“What?” Bellamy whispered.

“That wall of yours, it may keep out pain, but it also may keep out love. You deserve all the love in the world my darling,” she said as she gave him a kiss on the forehead

“I’ll think about it.”

“That’s all I ask,” she said squeezing his hand, “Now go to sleep I know you’ve got early class tomorrow.”

“I’m going I’m going,” Bellamy said, going up the stairs to his apartment just as Cal came out and sat next to his wife.

“What do you think?” Cal asked.

“I think things might change around here,” Sarah stated, leaving Cal sitting there confused.

-*-*-*-*-

Clarke entered the classroom with Raven; it was one of the classes they shared with Finn so she knew it would be hard for her friend. They took their seats and waited for O’Dell to arrive and for the first time since she first came to this class she hoped O’Dell was early.

“How are you holding up?” Clarke asked.

“At the moment I’m fine.”

“Fucked up, insecure, neurotic and emotional?” Clarke smirked.

“Yeah something like that,” Raven agreed as they saw Finn come inside and come towards them.

“Raven, can we talk?”

“There’s nothing to talk about,” Raven said, not looking up.

“Raven please let me explain, I was drunk and stupid and I can’t believe I did that. Please believe me, that’s not me,” Finn pleaded as Bellamy came inside. He smirked at Clarke and then noticed Finn. He better go make sure his friend didn’t end up dead.

“It was one party- I didn’t go to one party and you sleep with someone else!” Raven exclaimed.

“Give me another chance, I’ll never do it again I promise,” Finn stated, then he looked her in the eyes. “I love you.”

“You love me? You don’t love me, now can you leave me alone I don’t want to talk to you right now.”

“Raven please.”

“Finn, stop it,” Clarke stated and he turned to he.r

“Stay out of this Clarke.”

“Woah Collins! You’re the one that needs to stop, you fucked up now deal with the consequences. Don’t talk to her like that- have some respect. Also, Raven asked you to leave her alone so that’s what you’re going to do. When she wants to talk she’ll talk, it’s her choice and you have to respect that,” Bellamy told him and then grabbed him and pushed him towards their seats in the back. He didn’t know why, but Finn talking like that to Clarke just rubbed him the wrong way. They sat down in their seats and O’Dell came in.

“Good morning class today we’re going to see if you’ve been paying attention…we have a pop quiz.” O’Dell told them as the class groaned. Clarke turned to look at him and he gave her a thumbs up. His was his chance to prove he was actually paying attention and that Clarke’s tutoring was working.

-*-*-*-*-

Clarke and Bellamy are walking towards their set design class when Clarke asked,

“How do you think you did on the quiz?”

“I hope I did well. I mean, I knew most of the things so that’s progress right?”

“Yeah it’s progress,” she said as he held the door open so she could get in. “Such a gentleman.”

“Of course, Princess,” he joked as they reached their table.

“This class is the worst,” Bellamy muttered, looking at their paper. They had to start on the next blueprints today and Bellamy was not looking forward to it. He was wonderful on the field, and wonderful with a guitar- but drawing? That was beyond his limitations.

“I heard that Mr. Blake,” Professor Wesley said as he came inside.

“Nothing personal- just I really don’t like making blueprints.”

“He gets frustrated when something doesn’t go his way,” Clarke clarified.

“Who made the last blueprint last class?” Wesley asked.

“I did why?” Bellamy wondered.

“How many blueprints do you have left to do?” he asked.

“We’ve got two more and the extended one,” Clarke responded, wondering why he was asking.

“Well it seems you two are ahead of the curve, most students here still need 5 more so I think that as long as you two behave you can spend this class just planning the next step.”

“You’re giving us the class off?” Clarke asked.

“Not quite, you can do whatever you like as long as it doesn’t disrupt others and you stay in your seats. Give the rest some time to catch up with you,” he said smiling, “Of course you can do your work as well and you’d have one less.”

“I think we’ll take the free time,” Bellamy said, looking at Clarke who nodded.

“Very well,” Wesley said and moved on to check on the rest of the class.

“That was weird,” Bellamy  stated.

“Not really, he knows we’ll do the work and he knows we’ll do it the right way. Right now you’re understandably frustrated, it’s better to just take a break otherwise your frustration will win and you’ll mess up,” Clarke explained. It was one of the reasons why she loved Wesley as a teacher. He trusted his students to do the work, but he also knew that some weren’t the best at things like this so he gave them a bit of leeway. Of course he only did this if he saw you were working hard from the beginning.

“Well that’s never happened to me before.”

“I’m guessing most of the time you take the jock way of things or leave things till the last minute?” Clarke asked and Bellamy smiled.

“Yeah something like that.”

“Welcome to the privileges of doing your work on time or early,” Clarke joked.

“It’s nice.”

“Yeah, it is isn’t it?” Clarke remarked as her phone started vibrating. She saw the caller-Id, her mother. Sure she could go outside and take the call or she could just ignore it- she chose the latter.

“No love lost there?” Bellamy remarked.

“My mother calls from time to time. Every time we talk we fight and I don’t feel like fighting right now.”

“Understandable,” Bellamy  empathized. If anyone understood parental issues it was him, and Clarke had told him about her relationship with her mother before. “You look like you want to talk.”

“My mother moved back here a week ago. Kane  told me I should talk to her but I don’t know if I can.”

“Has she tried to contact you, not your stepfather, but has she made an attempt?” Bellamy asked.

“This is the first time she’s called since they moved here.”

“I’d say wait a bit, if she calls again it means she wants to talk- if she gives up…” Bellamy trailed off.

“Yeah, that sounds reasonable. I want to talk to her but I don’t want to hear the judgment.”

“Does she get on your case about it a lot? The med school thing I mean,” Bellamy asked.

“She makes comments here and there. Those aren’t the bad ones, the bad is when she goes against my major. She thinks an art degree is ridiculous and a waste of my time. She doesn’t forget to remind me of what she thinks about it. Sometimes I fear she might be right.”

“She’s not,” Bellamy stated. He didn’t like seeing Clarke doubting herself.

“How do you know?” she asked softly.

“I’ve seen how passionate you are about your art. If you’re that passionate about something there’s nothing wrong with it, it’s better to do something you love than get stuck doing something you don’t.”

“Thanks, Bellamy.”

“You’re welcome Clarke… Anyway it was something my mom always said, if you don’t love it then why are you doing it? The only person you need to make happy is yourself.”

“She was a smart woman,” she commented. Bellamy didn’t bring up his mother a lot but the times he did made Clarke smile.

“Yeah she was,” Bellamy agreed, “She would have liked you.”

The moment he said it he looked startled like he couldn’t believe he had said that.

“I would have liked to meet her too,” she said smiling. He smiled back as Professor Wesley told the class to stay packing up their things because class was almost over.

Bellamy and Clarke started picking up their things silently, both reeling from their talk. It seemed every time they talked recently things got closer and closer to that invisible line; a line that neither of them knew if they wanted to cross. They always seemed to get interrupted before they crossed it, and it was better that way. Bellamy and Clarke said goodbye as Bellamy headed towards Coach’s office and Clarke headed towards the break room.

-*-*-*-*-

Clarke was so busy sketching that she didn’t notice her best friend sit in front of her.

“Earth to Clarke,” she said, taking one of Clarke’s earbuds out- startling Clarke.

“You scared me,” Clarke muttered.

“I kept calling your name and you weren’t answering.”

“Sorry, you know me I get wrapped up in drawing,” she said, closing up her sketchbook.

“Are you ever going to show me your drawings?” Octavia asked.

“One day, maybe,” Clarke joked.

“Sure, laugh it off Griffin, one day I’ll see them.”

“If you say so.”

“I do say so, now for other matters where’s Raven?”

“She left after O’Dell’s class, seeing Finn was hard,” Clarke told her.

“Asshole, I can’t believe he did that… Finn is the last guy I thought would cheat you know?” Octavia commented.

“Yeah it sucks, but that wasn’t the reason you interrupted my drawing,” Clarke stated, smiling at her best friend who just smirked.

“Been on the back of any motorcycles lately?”

You’re incorrigible,” Clarke told her.

“You left my house on the back of my brother’s bike and you’re calling me incorrigible?” Octavia smirked.

“Nothing happened, so get those ideas out of your head.”

“I don’t know what you’re implying.”

“Sure you don’t.”

“Seriously where did you go?”

“We went to a bar, the one owned by Jasper’s family, and just hung out.”

“Wait you went to The 100?”

“Yeah, you’ve been there?” Clarke asked.

“Nope, I’ve heard about it, but I’ve never been there,” Octavia stated.

“It was nice. Cal and Sarah are really sweet,” Clarke told her.

“So you met his pseudo-parents and went to his favorite place and I’m supposed to believe there’s nothing between you?” Octavia remarked.

“You know I don’t date. At most we’re friends so get those ideas out of your head.”

“Okay, I will but I think you’d be really good together,” Octavia stated.

“O,” Clarke warned.

“Okay, matter dropped. Do you think O’Hara will give us our parts today?” Octavia asked, changing the subject.

“I hope so, I really want to know what I’ll get.”

“You’ll get the lead,” Octavia said matter-of-factly.

“You don’t know that,” Clarke responded.

“I know you and I’ve heard you sing, there’s no way you’re not getting a lead role,” Octavia pointed out.

“If you say so.”

“I do say so. Now back to the topic of men, what do you think of Miller?”

“He’s a good guy, why?” Clarke asked and then saw the expression on her friend’s face.

“O don’t, come on O!” she exclaimed but laughed. Octavia was truly incorrigible.

-*-*-*-*-

“You look like you could use a drink,” Wick stated.

“Or 20,” Raven replied.

“Bad day?” Wick asked.

“You could say that. How about a rum and coke?” Raven asked,  and Wick came back with her drink.

“I’m all ears, I’m a good listener and I’m cheaper than a psychologist,” Wick told her

“If you say so.”

“Plus, you don’t know me, it’s easier to spill your woes to  a stranger.”

“That is true,” Raven agreed.  She did need a new ear for her situation.

“Okay, so spill pretty lady,” Wick said causing her to smile.

“I found out my boyfriend cheated on me, and while we were only dating a few weeks I thought we had something special, you know? To hear that because I couldn’t go to one party, one, he found someone else? And then his reasoning was that he was drunk and she looked like me…We had a pretty big fight and I kicked him out of my apartment. The next time I saw him was today in class and it hurt.  He kept asking for forgiveness and I didn’t know what to say. I should be in class right now but remembered I also share that class with him too. I don’t know what to do,” Raven said letting it all out. It felt good to vent, even if it was at a stranger.

“Wow, excuse me for saying this, but your guy sounds like a bit of a douche.”

“He’s a really good guy, the best I’ve dated.”

“And he cheated on you,” Wick pointed out.

“I don’t know if that says something about me- that the best guy I’ve dated is a cheater.”

“It doesn’t say something about you but rather about  him. A cheater is a cheater- that has nothing to do with you.”

“How can you be sure, you don’t even know me.”

“I’ve been where you are. You’re wondering what you could have done to prevent it, you’re thinking maybe it wouldn’t have happened if you went to that party, he’s promising he’ll never do it again, you don’t know if you’ll forgive him. Maybe you will forgive him even if you do you won’t be able to trust him,” Wick stated and every word he said hit the target, it was basically what she had been feeling all day.

“Relationships can’t go anywhere without trust,” she muttered and he nodded.

“Finally, let’s say you manage to get over it. Whenever you’re not with him you’ll think about it, wondering what he is doing. Then he’ll cheat again and you’ll end up hating yourself because you knew this would happen.”

“Maybe you do know what I’m feeling,” Raven admitted and he shrugged.

“I was engaged and very much in love with my girl, she cheated on me once while we were dating and I forgave her. I even proposed some time later- I thought it was what we needed you know? A few months before the wedding I found her in bed with one of my friends.”

“What did you do after that?” Raven wondered, suddenly very intrigued by this guy and his story.

“I got my things, sold the ring and hopped on a bus. I ended up here. Cal and Sarah took me in, and I finished my degree here,” Wick told her and was surprised at how easily the words flowed, he didn’t really like talking about that period in his life.

“How old were you?”

“20, which I know really young to be thinking of marriage, but I had a mother who didn’t pay attention and a father who didn’t care. My therapist said I was desperate for affection,” Wick told her.

“Rich kid?” Raven asked.

“Something like that. Father was in politics, mother is a debutante.”

“Was?” she asked.

“He died of a heart attack a few years back.”

“I’m sorry.”

“It’s alright, this place helped. It’s funny how you can sometimes find a family when you’re not looking for one,” Wick said.

“Yeah, I know what you mean,” Raven said, thinking of Clarke and Octavia.

“Well, I had a point before I started with my sob story. You’re a beautiful woman; you shouldn’t settle for someone who doesn’t give you the respect you deserve.”

“Thanks, that means a lot,” Raven told him truthfully.

“Andrew Wickham.”

“Excuse me?”

“That’s my name, Andrew Wickham, friends call me Wick,” he said, extending a hand out to her. She took it and smiled.

“Raven Reyes.”

“Pleasure to meet you, Miss Reyes.”

“Likewise, Mr. Wickham.”

-*-*-*-*-

It was time for the last class of the day. Everyone was seated in their usual spots; the difference between this class and the previous ones was that the girls didn’t let Finn sit with them. Fox was sitting next to Octavia and Bellamy was occupying Raven’s usual spot between his sister and Clarke. Jasper looked betrayed when Bellamy sat with the girls instead of him, but there was very little Bellamy could do when his sister dragged him to sit with them. So Jasper got Miller to sit with him instead while Finn sat in one of the chairs, alone.

Professor O’Hara walked in and everyone got quiet as she walked towards the white board and started writing up names of musicals; RENT, Newsies, Wicked, Grease, Once, Chicago in one column and in the other Catch Me If You Can, Legally Blonde, Bonnie and Clyde, Next to Normal, West Side Story and American Idiot.

“Can anyone tell me what makes one side different than the other?” O’Hara asked.

“The ones on the left side are one word titles,” Harper answered.

“Good answer, but not exactly,” O’Hara responded.

“They are all inspired from something or inspired something?” Monroe asked.

“Another good answer, but not quite,” O’Hara told them and then continued, “These are the choices for what musical we might make.”

“What do you mean?” Octavia asked.

“Considering we’ve got more people this semester, we aren’t doing a workshop but rather an actual production. Of course we  could choose to do one show or a selection from the shows on this list. How does that sound?”

“Are we still getting our roles today?” Fox asked.

“Sort of. I’m still sorting out the details, I’ve got a few roles also chosen based on the auditions and I’ve got the main leads chosen,” O’Hara told them.

“So who are the leads?” Jasper asked.

“Before I announce the leads I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised by the amount of talent in the auditions. One of the leads isn’t the least bit shocking; the other one shocked even me. Our female lead is Clarke Griffin.”

“I told you so Griff!” Octavia exclaimed.

“Yes, I know pretty much everyone saw that one coming,” Miller joked.

“Thanks, Professor,” Clarke said, smiling.

“You’ve earned it Clarke, no one deserved the lead more than you,” O’Hara told her and then turned back to the class.

“And for the male lead, and again I gave his a lot of thought. The male lead goes to Bellamy Blake,” she stated, earning shocked looks from the students, though the man in question looked to be the one most shocked.

“Now that one I did not see coming,” Sterling commented.

“I did,” Jasper commented smiling, of course his brother was going to get the lead- he had a great voice.

“Like I said, Mr. Blake here shocked even me.”

“Are you sure about this professor?” Bellamy wondered.

“100% sure. I want to see my two leads after class but for now let’s get started on today’s lesson shall we?” O’Hara directed at the class, her own way of saying there was going to be no more talk of this until later. Clarke and Bellamy exchanged a look. Well, there were worse people to play the lead with and Clarke was starting to realize she didn’t really mind Bellamy’s company.

“Okay, let’s get started. First you’ve got to write down from the list on the board a list of what shows you like most to least, also tell me if there’s any characters you would like to portray. I can’t guarantee you’ll get them but it’s nice to know, “ O’Hara said and that marked the official start of the day’s lesson. They would worry about the rest of the things later.

-*-*-*-*-

O’Hara had asked them to stay behind after class and that’s what they did. Everyone had cleared out and they were waiting for her to start talking.

“You two are probably wondering why I chose you as the leads, especially you Blake.”

“Well I wasn’t surprised at Clarke, but yeah I didn’t really expect to get picked,” Bellamy told her.

“I figured as much from your face when I said the news,” O’Hara told them.

“I wasn’t surprised at you picking Bellamy, he’s got a great voice, but why me?” Clarke asked and Bellamy looked at her like she was crazy. Had she heard herself sing? She was incredible.

“Exactly for this reason,” O’Hara pointed out and they turned to look at her. “You both think the other deserved the role but weren’t too sure about your own. Plus, your auditions made it so I basically had my choice made for me.”

“Why?” Bellamy asked.

“Clarke sang Watch What Happens while you sang Santa Fe, and from your expressions I’m guessing that wasn’t planned either?” O’Hara smiled. She loved when things like this happened. These two had a lot more in common than they suspected and all they needed was a push in the right direction and they would be golden.

“So we were chosen because we both like Newsies? Does that mean we’re doing Newsies?” Clarke wondered.

“It’s gonna be one of the musicals were picking from yes,” O’Hara stated, from the lists she could tell Newsies was in the top or near the top of a lot of people’s lists.

“What do you mean?” Bellamy asked.

“Like I mentioned in class, I’m not sure if we’re doing a big show or just selections from many musicals, but if we do the latter Newsies is definitely on the list,” O’Hara told them.

“Was that all, because I have to get to practice and I know Clarke has work,” Bellamy told her.

“I just need to hear something from you two,” O’Hara said and handed both of them song sheets, it was the reprise to Dying Ain’t So Bad from Bonnie and Clyde. “I know there’s no music but I just need to hear your voices together. After that you can go, after all I know you’ve got 10 minutes before your practice starts Mr. Blake.”

“If you say so,” Bellamy stated, sharing a look with Clarke.

Some day, they’ll go down together. They’ll bury them side-by-side. To few, it’ll be grief, to the law a relief. But it’s death for Bonnie and Clyde.” Clarke spoke then went on to sing the verse, “Seems you get to live your life just once, if that’s how it’s gotta be, then I’d rather breathe in life than dusty air. Dyin’ ain’t so bad.”

Not if we both go together, only when one’s left behind does it get sad,” Bellamy sang, joining in to the last part of the reprise.

But a short and lovin’ life… A short and lovin’ life…A short and lovin’ life, that ain’t so bad,” they sang and smiled a bit at the way their voices blended together.

“That was all for today- you can go,” O’Hara said smiling, like she knew something they didn’t know. Bellamy just nodded and left for practice while Clarke stayed to pick up her things.

-*-*-*-*-

Aurora heard the doorbell and opened it to greet her old friend. It had been a long time since she’d seen Abby and it was always nice to catch up.

“It’s great to see you Abby, how are Laurie and Marcus, and the house?” Aurora asked as they walked towards the living room, they sat down and one of the maids brought them some appetizers.

“Marcus is great, he’s very busy with setting up the new office. He says he can’t wait for it to get completely settled so he can work from home.”

“That sounds like the Kane I know,” Aurora laughed.

“And Laurie is great, she’s got her moments but so far she’s a great kid. Plus I’m enjoying the fact that at least one of my kids likes me,” Abby muttered.

“Abby,” Aurora started.

“I’m sorry, I just don’t know what to do.”

“Have you tried talking to Clarke?” Aurora asked.

“You sound like Marcus,” Abby told her, taking a bite of a cookie.

“Well he has the right idea, and sometimes talking doesn’t work, I know that better than anyone, but you never know if you don’t try,” Aurora mentioned, thinking of her own situation.

“How is that going by the way?” Abby asked.

“Between Bellamy and Matthew?” Aurora wondered and Abby nodded, “If anything it’s gotten worse over time. I don’t get him, instead of trying to find some common ground with his son, he treats him like he’s 7 instead of in his 20s.”

“That bad?”

“Worse, with them talking doesn’t work you know? Then with Matthew trying to buy Bellamy’s love it gets even worse.”

“How’s your relationship with him?” Abby asked.

“My relationship with Bellamy has gotten better over time so that’s good. He doesn’t hate me anymore, at least I don’t think so,” Aurora admitted.

“Well that’s great, but I meant with your husband- how are you and Matthew doing? Last I heard you were trying to have another kid,” Abby wondered. She was worried about her friend’s marriage, and from Aurora’s face she had cause to be worried.

“The baby might be completely off the table. I think we’ve got enough to deal with Octavia and Bellamy. Plus, I don’t know, our relationship isn’t the best at the moment and it wouldn’t be fair to bring a kid into that,” Aurora admitted, for the first time she could admit to someone that things with Matthew were not ideal.

“What’s wrong?”

“I don’t know, I guess I just keep going it over and over. When I was stuck here finishing my studies he was in another city with a different family. I never thought it was even a possibility you know? I just thought he was working to support our future. He was supposed to be doing a training workshop and he kept going back and forth so I never thought anything of it. Then I got pregnant with Octavia and he came back for good, he never went back.”

“Is that the problem?” Abby inquired, not really understanding her friend.

“He never looked back, I investigated him after everything came out and he never looked back. He knew he had a son out there and he never looked for him or cared, I could never do that with Octavia and I’m betting you wouldn’t able to abandon Clarke and Laurie in that way.”

“I see your point,” Abby stated and as she thought about it she realized she was right, she wouldn’t be able to abandon her daughters in any way. Maybe she wasn’t mother of the year, especially with Clarke, but she always loved her girls.

“It’s made me question a lot of things about our life together, you know?”

“Yeah, our lives didn’t exactly turn out the way we expected them to,” Abby pointed out, and Aurora laughed.

“No they haven’t, you know what? I need to go run some errands and afterwards we can go get a coffee. I know a café that has really good coffee and we can talk more freely,” Aurora mentioned.

“That sounds like a good idea, maybe you’ve got anything you can tell me about how to get my daughter to talk to me?”

“I’ll do what I can,” she said as they got inside Abby’s car and left to do their errands.

-*-*-*-*-

Clarke was waiting for Bellamy at the end of practice; the library was still getting fixed so technically she had a paid vacation. It was a very ironic situation considering it was partly her fault that the door got blown up.  Bellamy came out with his hair wet looking like he’d just come out of the shower, which  he probably had. Something she was eternally grateful for, as the scent of sweat wasn’t exactly one of her favorites.

“How was practice?” Clarke asked.

“Grueling, homecoming is next week, which means Coach is being extra tough,” Bellamy complained.

“You love it don’t you?”

“Homecoming? Yeah I do, it’s a pretty big deal and the alumni are coming and this is the one game we have to beat,” Bellamy told her.

“Who are you playing against?” Clarke asked.

“The Grounders,” Bellamy told her.

“Grounders, the name sounds familiar.”

“It should- they are our school’s biggest rivals in pretty much everything,” Bellamy explained. They had a long history rivalry with the Grounders, especially when it came to football, “They beat us last year at Homecoming so this year we have to win,”

“Pride is on the line.”

“Something like that, this is the first year I’m the starting Quarterback.”

“So you’ve got something to prove.”

“If I can lead the team to victory against the Grounders, I’m golden,” Bellamy told her as they reached the parking lot.

“I get it, well I’ve seen you play. I don’t think you’ve got much to worry about,” Clarke said.

“Was that a compliment, Princess?”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about,” Clarke mentioned coyly.

“Sure you don’t. Well your highness, your chariot awaits,” he said as he got on his bike.

She laughed but got on the motorcycle behind him and headed towards the café. Once they reached it she got off and handed him the helmet.

“I have to say your death machine is not a bad way to travel.”
“Death machine?” he smirked.

“Yeah, it’s what my mother called them. She said many of the accidents she got in the hospital were partially caused by motorcycles, and therefore they are death machines,” Clarke explained and he laughed.

“Well can’t argue with that,” he said opening the door for her to go inside. They ordered their coffees-and a maple scone, once they got to the counter. Clarke tried to pay for her own but Bellamy didn’t let her, “Nope, this is my treat Princess.”

“I can pay for my own coffee.”

“I know you can but I want to pay for it,” Bellamy stated, paying the barista who looked amused at their antics. They went to take a seat at one of the tables as they waited for the coffee to be brought over. They were reading their assignment in silence when Clarke decided to break the silence.

“So Santa Fe?” Clarke asked breaking the ice.

“I was wondering when you were going to ask about that.”

“I’m just surprised, it’s not the typical song, and don’t take this the wrong way but it’s not exactly a well-known musical. Not many people other than Broadway geeks know of it. You’re not exactly a Broadway geek.”

“No, I’m not,” he laughed as their coffees and the scone arrived. He took a sip of his coffee, “My mother loved the movie version of it. I know it’s not that popular but she loved it so I grew up with a lot of Jack Kelly. After she died and all went to hell, the movie would be one of the things that would make me feel closer to her.” He smiled at her and she smiled back, she understood holding on to things because it made you feel closer to the one you lost. After all she still had her dad’s old watch. He took another sip before he continued talking “I stumbled  upon the Broadway version while I was dealing with the Matthew situation and it helped; Santa Fe especially. The lyrics about the 17 year old that felt like he was stuck with no real future in sight resonated with 17 year old Bellamy  whose mother was dead and was being practically forced to live with this new family. It motivated me to really go out for the scholarship.”
“That’s amazing Blake,” she smiled and she could have sworn he blushed a bit.

“It was nothing really. What about you, Princess? I would have pegged you as more of a Wicked or RENT.”

“Don’t get me wrong, I love both of those- but I’ve always loved Katherine Plumber. It was after all partly her fault that everything happened.I know she doesn’t exist in the movie but I don’t know I just related to her a lot. She’s the one that motivated them along with Jack. Also she was a woman trying to succeed in a world filled with men. Plus the whole trying to distance yourself so it’s your fame and your merits instead of your family’s is something I relate to.”

“Well you make a wonderful leader.”

“So do you,” Clarke stated then turned to their reading. “Okay, so we’re not getting the results back until probably next week but we can’t slack off. Especially since you probably got a good grade so she’s going to be pissed.”

“You’re that confident?” Bellamy smirked.

“Well, I am a wonderful tutor,” she joked.

“Yeah, you definitely are,” Bellamy said truthfully, making her blush a bit.

-*-*-*-*-

About an hour later Abby and Aurora pulled into the café parking lot and Abby looked around, noticing it was next to the public library.

“Is the café for the public library?” Abby asked.

“Honestly I think they made it that way for students who wanted to study in a more relaxing environment than a library,” Aurora said.

“That makes sense, so should we go in?” Abby asked, opening the door,

“Yes, I am in serious need of a caffeine fix,” Aurora joked as they headed towards the counter just as Bellamy looked up and saw them.

“Don’t be alarmed but I’m pretty sure your mother just came in with my stepmother,” Bellamy stated.

“What?” Clarke whispered.

“Well, she looks like you so I’m guessing she’s your mother,” Bellamy told her and she discretely took a look, it was her mother.

“Whatever you want to do we’ll do it,” He mentioned.

“Let’s pack up our things,” Clarke told him and he quickly got their things ready.

“Done princess, are you done with your coffee?” he asked.

“Yeah, it’s empty- what about you?” Clarke wondered and he showed her the empty cup.

“Want to make a run for it?” he asked, standing up and at the same moment she stood up. They tried to leave the coffee discretely but they heard a voice calling their names. They had been spotted.

“Bellamy?” Aurora called out, surprised to see her stepson in the café. So it was true that Clarke was tutoring him- good to know.

“Clarke?” Abby asked and Clarke exchanged a look with her mother before she grabbed Bellamy’s hand and ran out of the coffee shop. Bellamy smirked at them before getting pulled by Clarke. They were running and he could hear Abby calling Clarke’s name but that just made Clarke run harder. They were behind the next-door library’s backdoors when they stopped. They had lost Abby and the adrenaline was running through their veins. Clarke rested again the wall and Bellamy stopped right in front of her. His arms were next to her head, as they started at each other, breathless.

There had been many close calls and there was no one around to interrupt the moment now. They weren’t aware who moved first, just that suddenly there was too much space between them and they wanted it gone. Their lips touched and all the tension that had been building up between them just exploded. They kissed like the world was ending and this was all they could do, all they wanted to do. They couldn’t break apart. It was pure passion and they couldn’t stop, they didn’t want it to stop. 

AN: So that’s chapter 4, sorry again for the wait! If you have any questions you can find me in my tumblr.

Leave a Reply

