Who We Are: Chapter 6

Title: Who We Are

Autor: killianthehero / maiqu20

Rating: T for now

Word Count:  8,264 (41,784)

Pairing: Bellarke

Read: FF.net AO3 Tumblr

Story Tag: Tumblr

Summary: Wrong information and misunderstandings can break even the strongest of couples. Bellamy and Clarke had a relationship back on the ark until one day it all stopped. Now it’s a year later and they are on the ground trying to figure out where they stand with each other, what really happened and how in the world are they going to protect the rest of the 100 from the threats of the earth and the threats from the arc.

AN: Hi! It’s not an illusion I did update! Sorry for the lateness, I am starting a Bellarke college AU (Blame Blinder!) and so this got put a bit on the back burner. If you want to check that out it’s called Lost and Found and it’s on my page. The other reasons I was late was that I went on vacation, spent a wk in cancun and it was sunny and perfect and the sea calls to me so not much writing got done there either, PLUS WORLD CUP. Then writer’s block…it’s a bitch. Honestly guys if you are ever wondering where the chapter is just go to my tumblr I’m always posting how progress is going.

This episode is a weird mix of canon and not canon but I hope you like it… Plus it’s got flashbacks, which I love and yeah I’m going to stop ranting and let you guys just read the chapter! Thanks to my glorious beta Kate..

Ch 6

Bellamy had just come out of Clarke and O’s empty tent. If they weren’t in their tent, where could they be? They weren’t in their tent nor where they in medbay, which was the area on the first floor of the dropship that Clarke used as a workplace. He had a really bad feeling about this. He started shouting their names, not caring if he woke up the entire camp.

“Bellamy, are you okay?” Monty asked as he and Miller came up to Bellamy.

“Monty have you seen my sister or Clarke?” Bellamy asked.

“It’s Octavia and Clarke, they are probably gossiping somewhere,” Monty said.

“I’ve checked the camp they are not here,” Bellamy responded, his voice breaking a bit at the end.

“Okay, you know what- we’ll help you look.  Right, Miller?” Monty mentioned and Miller nodded.

“Yeah, why don’t I check the medbay again, Monty can check tents and you’ll check the rest of the dropship,” Miller said and all Bellamy could do was nod. The two most important people in his world were missing. Earlier everything had been so perfect- how had things gotten so screwed up?

-*-*-

Octavia woke up and everything was dark; she didn’t know where she was. She felt a bit lightheaded and when she touched her face she could feel dried blood, everything hurt. Her right leg was aching and it didn’t look good- she couldn’t get up. She looked around trying to decipher where she was. There was basically no light and she had no idea what time it was. Her memory was fuzzy at best, what had happened?

She remembered the conversation with Jasper and running out of the camp. In hindsight that was not the best course of action. She remembered hearing sounds and Clarke begging her to come back to camp, uneven ground and then nothing. Clarke! Clarke had come after her but she wasn’t in the room so where was she? Oh shit- where was Clarke?? She wanted to scream but didn’t know if anyone was around. She needed to find her best friend and they needed to get back to camp.

In that moment the grounder came back inside and he seemed to be carrying a hot blade. Octavia screamed.

-*-*-

They still hadn’t found them and Bellamy just kept getting more and more scared but he couldn’t show it.

“Everyone! Gather around and grab a weapon!” Bellamy exclaimed, dropping their stack of weapons on the ground, “My sister and Clarke have been out there alone for god knows how long, arm up, we’re not coming back without them.”

Monroe, Roma, John, among others, went to grab weapons. Jasper got close but Monty stopped him.

“Jas you don’t have to do this, I know you haven’t left camp since they brought you back.”

“I need to do this not just for Octavia but for Clarke. She’s the reason I’m alive right now I have to repay her somehow,” Jasper whispered as Bellamy came up to them.

“We need all the people we can get,” Bellamy reminded them and Jasper nodded as he went to join the rest.

“In that case count me in,” Wells said, grabbing a weapon from the pile and sharing a look with Bellamy. They didn’t like one another, not one bit, but for Clarke they would put aside their differences. Plus Wells had a skillset that could prove useful. That’s when Bellamy realized they needed someone else- Finn.

“Finn, get out here,” Bellamy shouted, and when after a minute or two of no spacewalker he shouted again, “Finn we’re leaving!”

Finn walked out of the tent and went to join the rest. He saw Miller coming his way and stopped him in his tracks.

“You’re not coming,” Bellamy said.

“I might not have a relationship with Octavia, but Clarke is my friend. I need to go, I thought you trusted me,” Miller retorted. He was honestly confused about why Bellamy was stopping him- didn’t he say they needed as much people as they could get?

“That’s exactly why I need you to stay. Clarke’s not here and I’m taking Jasper, Wells and Finn with me, among others, to look for the girls. I need someone I trust to take care of camp in our absence,” Bellamy explained.

“You trust Finn and Wells?” Miller asked curious.

“Not even one bit, Clarke trusts them though so I’m following her lead, and I know they care about camp, so there’s that.”

“What about Jasper?”

“Jasper is…interesting to say the least. He cares about my sister almost as much as I do, he cares about Clarke as well, so he’s got more at stake in this mission than a lot of the rest of them going,” Bellamy explained. He saw Miller’s look and continued, “I hate to say this but some of the people going are just trying to impress someone- either myself or someone else. Finn and Wells have no relationship with Octavia so they are basically going for Clarke. Jasper on the other hand has got more riding on this, he’s good friends with Clarke, plus the fact that he owes her his life, and I’m pretty sure he’s half in love with O. What I’m saying is he’s as invested in this as I am so I guess I do trust goggles.”

“I get your point,” Miller responded.

“Like I was saying, if Wells or Finn were staying back I’d leave the camp to them because I know they would protect it, but they are coming along, and the only person I trust to take care of things and protect everyone is you, Miller. You’re my second,” Bellamy explained. He could see the impact his words had on him as Miller nodded in response.

“I won’t let you down Bellamy.”

“I know you won’t. If you need anything go to Monty or Raven.”

“Will do, be careful,” Miller muttered.

“I’ll try my best,” Bellamy retorted

“And Bellamy?” Miller called out as Bellamy was walking away he turned to look at Miller, “Bring them back.”

“That is something I can promise. I won’t come back till I find both of them,” Bellamy declared, and with that he left to join the searching party, they needed to leave soon.

-*-*-

Clarke had just finished work, or well her apprenticeship, and was heading towards the spot Bellamy had showed her. Bellamy, he was something special to say the least. It had been months since they met and she already felt like she could trust him with anything.

Speak of the devil, Bellamy was sitting down in what she called their spot, he had his eyes closed and was leaning against the wall.

“Hey Bond…” she said sitting next to him.

“Hey princess,” he muttered. He had started calling her princess after the second time they had hung out, and while she normally hated the nickname she liked it when it came from him.

“Hey Bell, what’s wrong?” she asked as she noticed he wasn’t his usual self.

“Nothing, don’t worry about it,” Bellamy said. The truth was that there was something wrong with Octavia and he was at a loss as to what to do. Not that he could tell Clarke that, he couldn’t tell anyone.

“Bell, I know we haven’t known each other long, but whatever is wrong you know you can trust me right?” Clarke told him, putting her hand over his, causing him to look at her for the first time since she sat down. Maybe he could trust her, should he?

“If I tell you a secret, will you promise not to speak a word of it? And I mean to anyone…No telling your parents or Wells- especially not Wells.”

“Bellamy, what are you involved in?” Clarke asked worriedly.

“Just tell me, can I trust you to keep a secret that you can never reveal?”

“First tell me if it’s dangerous to you, I don’t want you getting hurt. If I keep quiet about this mysterious secret will you end up getting hurt?” Clarke wondered. She didn’t think she could keep a secret that would lead to Bellamy being hurt.

“You’re worried about me?” Bellamy asked shocked. No one ever really worried about him- it felt strangely comforting.

“Of course I worry you, you dolt! We’re friends right?”

“Yeah of course…we’re friends…to answer your question, no- it’s not dangerous to me, not really, but it is illegal.”

“Okay then, I promise I won’t say a word,” Clarke told him truthfully and he grabbed her hand and helped her get up.

“Come with me,” he said as he led her away from the spot, walking in silence until they reached a door.

“Is this your home?” she wondered.

“Yeah, it’s my home.” he said, opening the door and letting Clarke come inside before shutting the door behind them as a figure came closer to them. Clarke saw a girl, at most a year younger than she was. The girl looked at Clarke and then at Bellamy.

“Bell, what’s going on?”

“Octavia meet Clarke, Clarke this is Octavia…my little sister,” Bellamy admitted, and Clarke knew why he had asked her to keep the secret before he told her what it was. You could only have one kid in the Ark and if this came out they would probably all be floated.

“Hi Octavia, it’s a pleasure to meet you. I’m Clarke, I’m a friend of Bellamy’s.”

“So you’re the new friend? He talked about you, you know?” Octavia told Clarke, causing Clarke to smile.

“Oh, what did he say?” Clarke asked, grinning.

“Well, he mentioned you were beautiful,” Octavia said, smirking at her brother.

“Did he now?” Clarke asked, looking back at Bellamy to catch him blushing.

“O, stop it- and should you even be on your feet?”

“Probably not,” Octavia admitted.

“What’s wrong?” Clarke asked.

“I fainted, and so he’s being a protective older brother.”

“We don’t know why you fainted, O,” Bellamy pointed out.
“And you can’t go to the doctor because she’d be discovered,” Clarke muttered to no one in particular but Bellamy still nodded, “Would you mind if I checked her out?”

“What?” both Blakes asked.

“I’m no doctor, but I am the apprentice so I have a few basic tools in my bag. I can check things like her pressure, among others.”

“You would do that?” Bellamy replied.

“Of course. Plus it would ease both your minds if we can find out why you fainted,” she told Octavia and the younger girl nodded.

“Just do it.”

“Okay, can you sit on the bed please?” Clarke asked and Octavia did as she was told, and so Clarke did her tests. After a few minutes she looked at Octavia.

“Your pressure dropped a bit it’s not dangerous or anything like that… Let me guess, you had a headache before you fainted?”

“Yeah, my head hurt a bit.”  

“It most likely means you’re not getting enough nutrients in your body or enough sugar.”

“How can we fix that?” Bellamy questioned.

“I have a bit of a solution in my bag, once a month my dad gets me sweets and what I do is I save them for a rainy day, “ Clarke mentioned as she pulled a chocolate bar out of her bag. “You can have it, I have more at home.”

“Are you sure?” Octavia asked, looking at the chocolate in wonder.

“You need it more than I do,” Clarke told her, smiling, and Octavia smiled back. Bellamy looked at both of them with a happy smile on his face, from the cheerfulness on O’s face he knew he made a good decision introducing the two.

-*-*-

“Guys over here!” Mick called out as Bellamy and the rest caught up to him

“What is it?” Bellamy asked.

“Right there- you see it? There’s something there,” Mick showed him.

“Rope,” Bellamy bit out, and one of the guys handed him some as Finn came up to him.

“What are you doing?”

“Need the rope to get back up,” he said as he tied the rope around his waist and Connor handed him a flashlight. He went down and saw what had caught Mick’s eye- it was Clarke’s knife, the one he had made for her. Without even thinking about it, he pocketed the knife.

“It’s Clarke’s knife. I’m going all the way down,” Bellamy called out.

Ignoring the murmuring coming from the rest of the group Jasper handed his torch to Finn and followed Bellamy down, Wells and Finn following his lead.

“Bellamy, what is it?” Jasper wondered.

“Blood, but I don’t know whose blood it is. If it’s Octavia’s or Clarke,” Bellamy whispered as Finn and Wells joined them.

“Someone else is here,” Bellamy stated looking at Finn, who examined the prints.

“Prints are deeper going that way.”

“What does that mean?” Wells asked.

“Someone was carrying them, or one of them at least,” Finn responded. “The question is who?”

“If they took them, then they are alive,” Jasper mentioned, trying to give Bellamy hope, “like when they took me.” The last part came as more of a whisper. They got up and started following the tracks.

-*-*-

It had been weeks since she had first met Octavia and the two girls had quickly become close. Bellamy came home from cadet training when he found Octavia and Clarke reading over one of the books Clarke had brought. Clarke had been bringing classic literature books, the ones they made her read in her classes, and sharing them with Octavia in her free time. Then when Octavia finished it Clarke would ask her about the books. Bellamy loved watching them read it was a special sight.

“So what do you think?” Clarke asked, not looking up from the book.

“I think Mr. Darcy is definitely dreamy. He does all that for her, but doesn’t want her to know so that she doesn’t feel indebted to him.”

“He wants her feelings for him to be real, and not just because she might owe him a debt.”

“But she loves him for him. What he did for her family just made her fall deeper in love with him,” Octavia pointed out.

“It’s one of the most timeless love stories. Apparently back in the day it was the basis for most of the relationships seen on tv or movies, the I hate you then I love you,” Clarke said, repeating the words one of her teachers had said.

“It’s a good idea,” Octavia acknowledged.

“Yeah it is,” Bellamy said, speaking up for the first time.

“How long have you been standing there?” Clarke asked.

“Long enough,” Bellamy smirked, and then the timer beeped and the Blakes knew exactly what that meant.

“I’ll get in the hole.”

“What’s going on?” Clarke asked, confused.

“Surprise inspection,” Bellamy explained, opening the hole in the floor as Octavia went inside. And just like they predicted, a minute later they had a knock on the door.

“Put the table over the hole,” Bellamy whispered, and Clarke did as she was told and then sat on the chair with her book. He opened the door and let the guards in.

“Cadet Blake, by authority of the council we’re here to perform a random inspection.”

“Sure thing Inspector Grus,” Bellamy responded as the guards started looking around the room and then the inspector noticed Clarke.

“Miss Griffin, you’re a long way from home.”

“Inspector Grus, always a pleasure,” Clarke responded.

“Mind explaining what you’re doing here?” Grus inquired.

“She’s my friend sir,” Bellamy stated.

“Oh really?” Grus asked, laughing.

“I’m actually good friends with Bellamy,” Clarke clarified.

“A princess from Phoenix and a cadet from Arcadia- that’s something you don’t see every day. You should stick to your own group kid,” Grus reprimanded, but it was unclear whether he was talking to Bellamy or Clarke.

“I had no idea there was any law against it, maybe I’ll ask my dad about it,” Clarke commented. “I can also ask my godfather, you know my godfather, right Inspector? It’s Marcus Kane.”

“Yeah I know who he is,” Grus muttered. Of course he knew, Kane was his boss after all.

“Or better yet, the next time I see Wells I can ask Chancellor Jaha and he’ll give me the real answer,” Clarke said, smiling sweetly at Grus, who knew he had lost the battle.

“Okay, everything’s good here- let’s go,” Grus said.

“Always a pleasure Inspector!” Clarke called out, even doing a wave for good measure as Grus left and Bellamy closed the door. Clarke moved the table and helped Octavia out of the whole.

“Did that just happen?” Octavia wondered.

“You want to explain what that was princess?” Bellamy asked, and Clarke could see he was impressed.

“That wasn’t the first time I’ve encountered Grus. He doesn’t like the privileged so he’s always looking for us to get in trouble. One time he tried to blame me for something I did not do and he was practically vilifying me when my dad appeared with Kane. “

“I bet that didn’t go well,” Bellamy laughed.

“Oh it didn’t. Especially since I was completely innocent and he was attacking me without proof. So obviously they suspended him for a month and if I ever make another complaint about him he’ll be most likely demoted or canned because there’s already a precedent,” Clarke smirked.

“You’re a complete and total badass, you know that right?” Bellamy complimented as Clarke blushed.  Octavia just laughed in the background at how clueless her friend and her brother really were.

-*-*-

They reached a sight that made them stop dead in their tracks- there were skeletons hung from the trees.

“I don’t speak grounder, but I’m pretty sure this means keep out,” Finn muttered, and people started to leave to go back to camp.

“Go back if you want. My sister, my girl, my responsibility,” Bellamy told them as he walked forward

“She’s my best friend,” Wells muttered, and he hated to admit it but his respect for Bellamy was growing by the second.

“I’d walk into Hell to find her,” Jasper said, obviously thinking of Octavia, and followed Bellamy’s lead.

‘I think we just did,” Finn remarked as he caught up with them. “This is probably one of the stupidest ideas we’ve had so far, but it has to be done.”

They were literally walking into hell. They had started out as a big group but most of them had gone back to camp, too afraid of the unknown, afraid of the grounders.

-*-*-

‘I’m not afraid, I’m not afraid.”

Octavia kept repeating the mantra until she was finally out of the tunnel. There was still no sign of Clarke and the grounder hadn’t come back after he had fixed her leg. She had looked everywhere while trying to find a way out but nothing. Maybe Clarke hadn’t been taken, or maybe someone else had taken her.

As she got out of the tunnel the sunlight blinded her. It was daylight again- at least that was something.

-*-*-

Miller was worried, there was no sign of them yet and the radio wasn’t fixed. Add that to the funeral they had witnessed before the search party left and you could say tensions in the 100 were pretty damn high.  Medbay was practically deserted right now considering Clarke wasn’t here.

Miller was honestly worried about Clarke. Sure he had his loyalty to Bellamy, especially now that Bellamy had named him second-in-command, but Clarke was something else. Not only did she make Bellamy happy, and they needed a happy Bellamy, but she also was a great friend. When they got to the ground he hadn’t been the nicest person, prejudices still intact and all, and yet she gave him another chance. She was the ying to Bellamy’s yang and the 100 needed both their leaders or else they would fall apart.

“Hey Miller- are you okay?” Monty asked as he went towards Miller carrying something.

“I’m alright I guess, just thinking.”

“They are going to be okay,” Monty told him.

“How can you be so optimistic?” Miller wondered. He was at a loss as to how Monty could be so optimistic in the situation they were facing.

“All my closest friends are out there. Two of them are probably in a lot of danger,” Monty admitted referring to the girls. “And the other one went to look for them so he could get hurt as well, and I just got him back you know? We almost lost him.” Monty muttered scratching his head, “I guess I have to be optimistic or else I won’t be able to do anything else.”

“Makes sense,” Miller murmured. “How is the radio?” he asked, changing the subject for both their mental health.

“We’re trying to fix the frequency on these things.”

“I don’t know about electronics, so is that actually possible?” Miller wondered.

“Yes it’s possible, Raven and I have got it covered- don’t worry Miller.”

“That’s good I guess, what’s that?” Miller asked, pointing to the object Monty’s hand.

“Oh, I brought you some food, Raven and I figured you would have been busy checking over everything to remember to eat.”

“Thanks,” he said, taking what he saw was a bit of boar from Monty.

“Don’t mention it, but seriously eat it, neither Bellamy nor Clarke would want you to starve. Our de facto leader needs his strength,” Monty told him as he walked out, leaving Miller to his thoughts once more.

-*-*-

They were walking through the trees and Finn had a hopeless look on his face that scared Bellamy to his wits. They were a much smaller group now, consisting of Bellamy himself, Finn, Jasper, Wells, Monroe, Roma, Mick, John and Diggs.

“We’ve got nothing, either we lost the trail or it ended here.”

“Keep looking,” Bellamy bit out. That couldn’t be it- they had to be around here somewhere.

“Wandering around aimlessly isn’t the way to find them- we should backtrack.”

“I’m not going back,” Bellamy told him.

“Hey guys- where’s John?” Roma called out.

“I just saw him a second ago,” Jasper muttered.

“Spread out- he couldn’t have gotten far,” Bellamy said.  Suddenly John’s body fell from the trees and landed between them.

“They use the trees,” Wells pointed out.

“We shouldn’t have crossed the boundary,” Mick muttered.

“Now can we go back?” Roma asked. Suddenly they started noticing the grounders everywhere.

“We should get out of here-,” Finn said, and Bellamy nodded as they all took off running.

-*-*-

Bellamy was dead tired- it had been a long day of training and working. The worst part was that he couldn’t actually focus because all that came to mind was Clarke. What is Clarke doing, how was her work, how she looked, how she acted. Everything was Clarke lately and he needed to do something about it or he’d go crazy. He had admitted to himself (and Octavia) that he had feelings for the blonde phoenix princess, now he just had to make a move.

He walked into his home to see his mom working on a uniform at the table while his sister and Clarke were sitting on the ground reading through a magazine.

“Bellamy, you’re home!” his mom exclaimed, causing the girls to look up.

“Hey mom, what are you working on?”
“Just some orders that came, the usual.”

“Hello O, Princess.”  

“Hello Mr. Bond,” Clarke said, smiling up at him. Oh shit, she used the nickname, it was now or never, Blake.

“Clarke, I’m glad to see you, can I talk to you about something?” he asked.

“Sure thing- what is it?”

“Can we go outside?” Bellamy asked nervously. It was hard enough to ask her out- he didn’t need an audience.

“Sure, as long as it’s okay with your mom,” Clarke replied and Bellamy turned to his mother.

“Stay outside the door, don’t wander off,” Aurora said without taking eyes off her work, they went outside and closed the door.

“So what did you want to talk about?” Clarke asked innocently.

“Clarke, we’ve been friends for a while right? And we care about each other? You know I would never do something to screw that up right?” Bellamy started to say as his left hand scratched the back of his head.

“You can tell me anything Bellamy.”

“I know and I like that, I like that I don’t have to hide with you and I think you like that too right? What I’m trying to say is that I think we’re very compatible, like in that movie we watched the other day.”

“We are,” Clarke said. She probably should put him out of his misery but it was fun to see the usually cool and collected Bellamy Blake all nervous and turned up in knots.

“I don’t want to ruin our friendship and I would completely understand if you don’t want to, but I was wondering if you would maybe probably..” Bellamy trailed off trying to find the right words.
“I would love to go on a date with you,” Clarke answered putting him out of his misery.
“You would?”

“I would, very much so… There’s actually a dance this Thursday and I was going to ask you if you would like to go with me, but you beat me to the punch.”

“Then I’ll see you Thursday?” Bellamy asked.

“You know where I live, pick me up at 8 and we’ll go from there. Say goodbye to Aurora and O for me,” Clarke answered, giving him a kiss on the cheek and going in the direction of her home.

“Will do,” Bellamy muttered as he watched her walk away with the biggest smile on his face. He had a date with the girl of his dreams, who was also his best friend. Life was great.

-*-*-

They had just killed Diggs and Roma had run off, Finn unable to stop her. That’s when Jasper realized something.

“They are leading us here; it’s the only direction we could run in.”

“Where did they go?” Finn asked, looking around.

“After Roma,” Bellamy muttered, and they took off to try and save her. At the same time Octavia was trying to escape when she heard the screams of Roma. They were near she could hear them. She felt the grounder who had healed her leg put his hand over her mouth and hide her behind a tree. That’s when she saw Roma get speared. Wells and Mick were the first to Roma’s body when Wells saw movement up ahead. The grounder had his back to him and he seemed to be carrying something or rather someone, Octavia.

“BELLAMY! I FOUND HER!” he yelled as he took off running and tackled the grounder with the help of Mick.

The rest got there in record time and Bellamy hugged Octavia like he couldn’t believe what he was seeing. The grounder used the distraction to get away from the group. Bellamy should have stopped the grounder, but at the moment he had his little sister back and nothing else mattered.

“They killed Roma, they are playing with us,” Finn muttered, and they saw the grounders come in closer until they heard it, the horn. That could only mean one thing.

“What does the horn mean?” Jasper wondered.

“Acid fog,” Wells responded.

“We have to run,” Monroe muttered.

“There’s no time,” Finn said as he took the tent out of his pack and they all got underneath it.

-*-*-

Bellamy got to the Griffin residence in record time. He was actually wearing a suit, a suit. Not only that but he was also wearing a tie and he was going to a dance that was going to be almost primarily filled with Phoenix kids. He could do this, of course he could. So he mustered up his courage and knocked on the door.

“Good Evening Mr. Griffin I’m here to pick up Clarke,” he stated.

“Bellamy, she’s almost ready come on in,” Jake said, giving him a warm smile as he opened the door and Bellamy came inside.

“So how are you tonight Bellamy?”

“I’m fine sir, and you?”

“I’m good, now tell me how do you really feel, you’re nervous right?”

“A bit yeah.”

“You want a suggestion from one Arcadian to another?” Jake asked, reminding Bellamy of something many people seemed to forget- Jake Griffin was originally from Arcadia until he was recruited and later moved to Phoenix.

“Sure.”

“Phoenix can smell fear and they can smell nervousness, don’t ask me how they just do, so my advice? Act like you’ve above them and you’ll fit in just fine,” Jake suggested.

“That actually works?” Bellamy asked, laughing a bit.

“You see most people in Phoenix think they are above everyone else and they know how to spot someone from a different class a mile away. So embrace it, beat them at their own game and you’ll come out on top.”

“Dad, are you trying to corrupt him?” Clarke said, suddenly coming out of her room. She was wearing a simple pink dress with black heels with her hair curled and she looked gorgeous.

“You look beautiful,” Bellamy whispered.

“Thanks,” Clarke responded, blushing at the compliment.

“Before you go there’s something I need to do,” Jake pointed out.

“Dad please don’t,” Clarke pleaded.

“It is my duty as a father, okay pumpkin. Don’t take this away from me.”

“Okay, have at it,” Clarke said, crossing her arms as her father turned to look at Bellamy.

“Bellamy you know I like you, you’re a good guy and you’re good for my kid, but it is my fatherly duty to warn you that if you in any way hurt my little girl, I will hunt you down and I’ll make it look like an accident. I know people who can make it look like an accident or make it so they never find your body,” Jake threatened, with a smile on his face, and ironically that last part was correct because he did know individuals who could get away with something like that.

“Fully noted, Sir,” Bellamy stated.

“And stop with the sir thing, I’ve told you before it’s Jake,” Jake told him, once more.

“Right, Jake.”

“I’m glad you finally asked her out, I know she’s wanted to go out with you for a while now,” Jake admitted.

“Dad!” Clarke exclaimed, “Let’s just go before dad embarrasses me any further…”

“Goodnight…Sir, I mean Jake.”

“We’ll work on it,” Jake muttered as the couple left their home.

They walked in comfortable silence, holding hands as they made their way to where the party was being held.

“I’m sorry about that,” Clarke said, breaking the silence.

“Don’t worry- I didn’t mind. It’s nice that you have someone like that.”

“Yeah it is.. And I hate to admit it but his advice was spot on,” Clarke admitted causing Bellamy to laugh.

“I’ll keep it in mind, but you’ll protect me from the big bad phoenix kids if they get too rowdy?” Bellamy quipped.

“Of course, I’ll hit them with my heels,” Clarke responded, as she faced him and loosened his tie a little bit

“What are you doing?”

“Now it’s perfect.”

“If you say so, but yeah it would hurt to get smacked by those heels.”

“I’ve always said they are more of a weapon than a shoe,” Clarke smirked. “Honestly, I’m glad you’re coming with me, I really didn’t want to go this alone, I really can’t stand them either.”

“I guess it’s a battle we’re going to have to fight together as one.”

“Our very own Kaiju,” Clarke wisecracked as Bellamy just rolled his eyes.

“Very funny,” Bellamy deadpanned.

“We are drift compatible after all,” Clarke reminded him.

“I’m never going to live that down am I?” Bellamy asked, laughing, but honestly he didn’t mind it, as long as it made her laugh.

“Nope, never,” Clarke teased.

“Well in all seriousness. I wasn’t wrong you know?” Bellamy remarked.

“What do you mean?”

“We are completely drift compatible,” Bellamy noted, and gave her a kiss on the cheek.

“Yes, yes we are,” Clarke beamed as they went towards where the music was playing. The night was starting out great so far.

-*-*-

“How long are we supposed to wait?” Jasper whispered.

“Does this even work?” Monroe muttered.

“I guess we’ll find out,” Finn responded.

“No we won’t,” Bellamy said sticking his head out of the tent, “there’s no fog.”

“Maybe it was a false alarm?” Wells mentioned.

“O, where’s Clarke?” Bellamy asked.

“I wish I could tell you but I have no idea. I had hoped she was with you guys,” Octavia told him.

“You don’t know where she is?” Bellamy wondered. They had been together when they disappeared so where could she be? What if the blood they found was hers? Even so, she was alive- he was sure of it.

“They are coming back,” Wells said.

“I think he’s alone,” Jasper whispered.

“Now can we run?” Monroe asked.

“We’re going after him,” Bellamy stated.

“Then what?” Finn asked.

“ We catch him, make him tell me where Clarke is, then kill him.”

“You’re not gonna kill him,” Octavia said, stopping Bellamy in his tracks.

“No I’m pretty sure I will,” Bellamy responded.

“Bell, you can’t!” Octavia exclaimed.

“Why are you even defending the guy?”

“He saved my life, that spear that hit Roma…” Octavia started.

“No, you’re wrong. I saved your life, Wells saved your life,” Bellamy interjected. “For all you know he was keeping you alive to use as bait for one of their traps.”

“I don’t think so.”

“You don’t think O, that’s the problem. They killed 3 of our people today and Clarke is still out there… It’s kill or be killed out here and if you don’t get that then we’ve got a problem. I don’t even know why you left the camp, if you hadn’t Clarke would be safe right now!” Bellamy exclaimed. She was trying his patience; they had spent a long time looking her only for her to start defending her kidnapper! Clarke could be really hurt and here she was protecting the guy who could lead them to her.

“Stop blaming me for your mistakes. Everything is on you, I never told Clarke to follow after me; I needed some time alone without either of you buzzing about. Everything that’s happened has been your fault. I got locked up because of you! The kids that died were following you! You got mom killed!” Octavia screamed and Bellamy did a small self-deprecating smile and turned to face her.

“Me?” Bellamy whispered and Octavia saw his entire expression change. “Mom was floated for having you. She’s dead because you’re alive. That was her choice, I didn’t have a choice, my life ended the day you were born,” Bellamy exclaimed and he regretted the words as soon as he said them but he couldn’t take them back now. Octavia was headed back to the tent when Bellamy stopped her again.

“Mick, take her back to camp now.”

“You can’t keep me locked up in camp forever.”

“Probably not, but I don’t need to be worrying about whether or not you’re being reckless while I’m worried about Clarke so you’re going back,” Bellamy ordered as Mick took Octavia away. He felt ashamed that the confrontation had happened here in front of everyone in the mission but at least it wasn’t back at camp.

Thankfully Wells, Finn and Jasper seemed to be acting as if they didn’t hear a thing. Bellamy needed that right now, just like he needed to find Clarke.

“Are we going after him?” Jasper asked.

“Yes we are, you all okay with killing him?” Bellamy asked, although they all knew he didn’t really care about the answer.

“As long as we find her I don’t care what you do,” Wells muttered as he shared a look with their fearless leader; maybe they did have some common ground after all. Then they took off running after the grounder.

-*-*-

“Raven, how are we on the radio?” Miller asked, coming into the communication tent.

“We’re a lot closer now, if all goes well we’re start testing it soon,” Raven told him.

“If it doesn’t go well?” Miller asked.

“We’d have to try to find another frequency,” Monty said.

“I’m guessing that’s not easy?” Miller wondered.

“Nope, but like we’ve told you before, we’ve got this so you can stop worrying and just start praying maybe?” Raven muttered.

“Okay, yes I can do that, good work,” Miller responded as Bradley, one of the guys in charge of keeping watch on the wall, came barging in.

“What is it? Is there no sign of them yet?” Miller asked Bradley.

“Maybe?”

“What do you mean maybe?” Miller asked again.

“Well I mean that Mick is here with Octavia but no sign of the rest.”

“Octavia is back?” Monty wondered.

“I need to go check on her and find out where the rest of them are. Everything is good here right?” Miller questioned.

“Yeah go, we’ve got everything handled here,” Raven told him so Miller followed after Bradley. When they got there Octavia and Mick were coming inside the wall and Miller gave orders to close it again. Octavia just looked at him and stormed off so he turned to Mick for answers.

“She’s pissed.”

“No shit, Sherlock,” Miller muttered, but Mick looked confused at the expression. “I mean that’s obvious I just need to know why and we are the rest.”

“Three of ours are dead- they were killed by grounders, John, Roma and Diggs. We found Octavia right after we saw Roma get killed. Bellamy saw her get struck and Jaha saw movement and we found a grounder with Octavia. We took him down, and Bellamy grabbed Octavia but he got away,” Mick explained.

“Okay, that explains half of what I asked. Where’s Clarke?” Miller asked.

“I don’t know man, they stayed behind to look for her. Bellamy just basically forced me to take Octavia back to camp,” Mick told him. “You should have seen that fight man, it was ugly.”

“Fight?”

“Between Bellamy and his sister, it was bad dude,” Mick muttered.

“It’s their personal life- that’s their business okay? Don’t go around spreading rumors,” Miller commanded. “Get some rest, a nap at most and then it’s back to work until nightfall alright?”

“Got it,” Mick said and moved toward his tent leaving Miller standing there. Miller put a hand on his beanie. Things were not going well. He just hoped Raven and Monty could work their magic on the radio. They need something good.

-*-*-

Clarke woke up again with a pounding in her head. The grounder wasn’t there at the moment so she guessed that was good, right? She was still really worried about Octavia and he wouldn’t say a word. Clarke just hoped Octavia had managed to get away.

Clarke had woken up with a few scratches and bruises but mostly unharmed. She had screamed for Octavia but nothing, and then the grounder came in and she was sure he was going to kill her but he didn’t. She had tried to run but it had been no use and she had ended up unconscious once again. It seemed the grounder had taken extra precautions this time. She was shackled to the wall.

She heard footsteps coming and she knew it was the grounder coming back; he probably was going to kill her this time. She needed something to defend herself with, a rock. Yes, that would probably work. She could hear him getting closer and so she managed to hit him with it and luckily he went down.

Clarke grabbed the key from the grounder’s unconscious body and tried to unlock the restraints. She had managed to unlock the chains from the wall when she heard movement. It was probably other grounders. Oh this was not good. She was going to die, she was never going to laugh with Jasper and Monty, trade gossip with Octavia, play chess with Wells, laugh at Finn’s ideas, and she was never going to be able to kiss Bellamy again.

That’s when the footsteps got closer and she saw the person she wanted to see the most walk inside the cave.

“Bellamy?” she whispered, not quite believing her eyes.

“Clarke!” he exclaimed, running over to her side.

“I’m not dreaming right?”

“No you’re not- I’m sorry it took me so long.”

He went to hug her and noticed the chains; he looked at her not knowing what to do.

“The key,” Clarke remembered and he grabbed it and took the shackles off her hands. As soon as she was free she practically jumped on him and he could feel the wetness of her cheeks on his neck as her tears fell down.

“Monroe, guard the door,” Bellamy called out as he hugged Clarke.

“I was so scared; I thought he was going to kill me,” she whispered so only he could hear.

“You don’t have to be afraid anymore- I’ve got you Princess, I’ve got you,” Bellamy whispered and she leaned in and kissed him with all the love in her heart. She kissed him like she would never get a chance to kiss him again because that fear had almost been a reality only moments ago.”

None of them noticed the fact that the grounder had opened his eyes.

-*-*-

“This has to work Monty. We need to give Clarke good news when she gets back, right?” Raven told him.

“Right, because they’ll be back,” Monty said, feeling unsure of the last statements.

“Of course they’ll be back,” Raven declared. The group would be back and they would have Clarke with them this time. “Has she said anything?” she asked, referring to Octavia.

“Not a word, she doesn’t even look at me. From what Mick said, she and Bellamy had their biggest fight yet. I don’t know details but apparently it was bad.”

“Well I could have told you that. I mean the only ones to come back that actually went into grounder territory were Mick and Octavia,” Raven said.

“Finn will be okay Raven, they’ll all be okay.”

“Enough talk. Let’s finally finish this radio shall we?” Raven told him, giving no room for argument.

-*-*-

“What are you doing in my home, Gabe?”

“I have to talk to you.”

“There are other ways to get my attention other than ambushing me in my home.”

“This isn’t an ambush Kane; it’s just me, no security, no nothing.”

“Are you here as father or a businessman?” Kane asked as the idea came to him.

“A father and a grandfather,” Gabe replied, and that shut up Kane. He knew he had to at least hear him out. “I’m also here to warn you of an upcoming danger.

“What is it?”

“I know about the flares, and we both know what they mean… the 100 are alive.”

“We can’t be sure.”

“You don’t want it to be true because you don’t want to think of that would mean with the culling,” Gabe told him, and it was times like this that he remembered how well Gabe knew him.

“Look Marcus,” Gabe started, surprising Kane with the use of his first name, “I like you, I respect the fact that you’ve gotten your career in a mostly honest way.”

“Okay?”

“Plus you’re one of the only two of Abby’s friends who never asked me for anything.”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean that with the exception of you and Jake, everyone else made good use of their friendship with Abby.”

“Jaha?”

“You don’t think he became chancellor just because of his good looks right?” Gabe remarked, and Kane was stunned. Jaha was always preaching about fairness and what’s right and just. He’s surprised to hear that’s he’s gotten help from people like Gabe. “He’s a good man; he deserved to be chancellor rather than that bitch. Which brings me to my point.”

“Which is?”

“Diana Sidney is dangerous.”

“Tell me something I don’t know.”

“There’s going to be an empty spot in the council soon because of Abby which means Diana is angling for it.”

“She came to you?” Kane wondered and Gabe fixed him a look. “Of course she did.”

“I basically told her there was no way in hell I was going to help her.”

“I figure she didn’t take that well.”

“No she didn’t, in fact she mentioned I’d regret it. So I’m thinking..”

“She’s going after Abby,” Kane muttered, finishing his thought.

“I need you to protect them,” Gabe said completely serious.

“Why me? We are barely even friends.”

“You don’t fool me Marcus, you’re still as deeply in love with her as you were when you were 16 years old,” Gabe commented. “That’s another reason why I respect you, Kane.”

“Because I never made a move?”

“You were about to make a move and she liked you so maybe it would have resulted in your favor, but you backed down instead.”

“She loved Jake though, he was the better man.”

“You knew when to back down gracefully, Jaha is another story all together but that’s a story for another day. I don’t know what Sidney is planning so I need you to watch out for her.”

“I will.”

-*-*-

Clarke separated from Bellamy and noticed the rest of the group.

“Where’s Octavia? Is she okay?” Clarke asked.

“Don’t worry- she’s safe back at camp,” Wells spoke up.

“Wells,” Clarke whispered as she walked towards her best friend and hugged him.

“You’re okay Clarke- we’ve got you,” he said, sharing a look with Bellamy. Clarke then went towards Jasper.

“Jas!” Clarke exclaimed as Jasper put his arms around his blonde friend.

“If O is back at camp, why didn’t you go back when she went back?”

“I came here to save both my friends; I couldn’t just leave you behind,” Jasper told her truthfully, and yes he could have gone back with Octavia but he had needed to find Clarke as much as the rest of them.

“I’m glad you finally left camp Jas, even if it was under these circumstances.”

“No better reason to leave camp than to find one of your best friends,” Jasper said as Clarke hugged Finn to thank him as well and then went back to Bellamy.

“How did you guys find me?” Clarke asked.

“Followed him,” Finn responded, pointing at the grounder on the floor.

“We should go, now, before he wakes up,” Clarke muttered.

“He’s not gonna wake up,” Bellamy interjected grabbing a spear that was on the ground.

“Bell no,” Clarke pleaded.

“He kidnapped you and Octavia and you want him to live?” Bellamy asked incredulously.

“I don’t give a shit about him, I care about you. You’re not a killer Bell- you’d regret this I don’t want this to weigh on your soul as well,” Clarke told him, grabbing his hand and when Bellamy looked at her eyes he just saw fear, she was afraid of the grounder. He needed to get his princess out of there.

“Let’s go,” Bellamy commanded to the group and they started leaving the cave. Clarke was in the middle of him and Jasper as they moved towards the exit. They were out of the cave when he made the mistake of looking back.

That’s when the knife stuck him.

He immediately fell to the ground and could hear Clarke screaming and fighting going on around him. He saw the grounder standing over him and the tip of the spear he was going to use grazed his neck. Suddenly both the grounder and the spear fell next to him and Jasper stood there with a spear in his hands. Jasper had knocked out the grounder.

Clarke ran to Bellamy, who was barely holding on to consciousness.

“We need to get him back to camp, fast,” she commanded, no longer scared for herself, as now she had a bigger reason to be afraid. With a look from Clarke, Finn carried Bellamy’s body and they all started running back to camp. There was no time to waste.

-*-*-

Monty, Octavia and Raven were all in the communications tent surrounding the radio. This just had to work; there was no other alternative.

“Are we ready to do this?” Monty asked.

“Ready as we’ll ever be,” Raven muttered.

“Let’s do it,” Octavia said, and Raven turned on the radio, turned to the right frequency and started to talk.

“This is Raven Reyes calling Ark Station, come in Ark Station.”

“Try again,” Octavia said.

“This is Raven Reyes calling Ark Station, come in Ark Station.”

Suddenly they heard the commotion from outside and they stopped what they were doing.

“What’s going on?”

“Maybe they are finally back,” Raven said. She would finally be able to see Finn again.

“You two go, I’ll keep trying to reach them,” Monty told them as they left the tent and went to where all the people were standing.

“They’re back!” Miller screamed, and they all gathered to see them return. Octavia was standing there watching; she was mad at her brother but she needed to see Clarke make sure she was okay.

“Make way!” Jasper and Monroe screamed, coming through the gates. “Make way!”

Then Clarke appeared, being supported by Wells and everyone was screaming, joyful at seeing her back in one piece until they noticed she kept looking behind her.

“What happened?” Miller asked, and then they saw it- Finn, carrying Bellamy’s semi-unconscious body. And there was no louder scream than Octavia’s.

An: Don’t hate me? I promise everything has a reason… and yes part of that reason is that I am evil. Clarke’s dress is on my tumblr under the fic’s tag.

Note about the flashbacks this episode, I have a deep intense love for Bellamy’s flashbacks in this episode and you guys know my policy that if it happened like in the show I don’t write it because that would just be transcribing the show. The only Blake flashback that didn’t happen like in the show was the end of the dance (because Octavia talked about it in episode 3).

Aren’t you guys happy the world cup is over? Now I have more time to write without stressing about football…

Leave a Reply

