Lost and Found: Ch 3

Title: Lost and Found

Autor: killianthehero / maiqu20

Rating: T for now

Word Count: 7,661 / 19,187

Pairing: Bellarke

Read: FF.net AO3 Tumblr

Story Tag: Tumblr

Summary: Bellamy Blake needs to fix his grades or else he’ll get suspended from the team, Clarke Griffin gets offered an opportunity, if she helps him fix his grades she’ll get one of the coveted spots in one of her dream classes. Will they manage to work together or will they end up killing each other in the process?

AN: You know when you know exactly what’s going to happen but you can’t seem to be able to write it down? Yeah that’s what happened here… I got a cover for this story now!! It’s amazing!! And of course nothing would be possible without my wonderful beta Kate.

Ch 3

It had been two weeks since Bellamy had lashed out in the library and things weren’t going much better.  They were acquaintances at most, and Bellamy knew it was partly, well okay mostly, his fault but he had no idea how to fix things.  Homecoming was coming soon, which meant Coach was on their ass more than usual. Plus things with Matthew were as frosty as ever so he was stressed pretty much all the time.

On her side Clarke wasn’t doing much better. She was coming to terms with the fact that in a few days her mother would be living in the same city as her. She didn’t like it, but she would have to learn to live with it. She was happy for the chance to see Laurie more often and Kane wasn’t bad, but her mother was a different story all together. O’Hara hadn’t picked parts yet and Clarke was dying to know what part she was going to get. Her mind was a mess and Bellamy wasn’t making things better. She still couldn’t figure out what had set him off, well to be fair, she hadn’t given that day much thought.

“Well, I’ll see you here tomorrow. They are closing the library early tomorrow so please don’t be late,” Clarke stated as she picked up her things and left him sitting there. Bellamy knew he had to find a way to fix things.

—*-*-

“She hates me,” Bellamy muttered as he entered Jasper and Monty’s dorm room.

“She doesn’t hate you, she’s indifferent,” Jasper responded, not looking up from his bed.

“You’re not helping Jas,” Monty joked from the desk.

“That’s even worse because I can work with hate. I can turn it around. But right now she doesn’t care, she just thinks I’m an asshole!” Bellamy exclaimed, throwing himself on Monty’s bed. Monty and Jasper look at each other and Bellamy caught that look.

“What?”

“It’s nothing,” Monty mumbled.

“Oh no, now you have to tell me.”

“Bell, you know we love you,” Jasper started.
“You’re our best friend,” Monty continued.

“But lately we’ve noticed…”

“That when you’re around a certain blond art student…” Monty said trying to find the words.

“You get…” Jasper said sitting upright on the bed.

“Douchey.”

“100%.”

“Complete douche mode.”

“And obnoxious,” Jasper added.

“Cliché jock.”

“Shithead.”

“Yes, such a shithead,” Monty agreed.

“Okay, I get the picture,” Bellamy remarked, putting his hands above his head.

“Seriously, as your very best friend I have to wonder why do you act like that with her? Like the cheerleaders might fall for that, but Clarke isn’t an idiot,” Jasper asked.

“I don’t know, I wish I had an answer, but I am completely off my game.”

“Dude, you’re not even close to your game, it’s in another continent,” Monty pointed out.
“Now look who’s the one that is not helping,” Jasper laughed as Monty shrugged.

“I know Clarke the best out of the three of us and I think if you showed her the real you, not big man on campus Bellamy Blake, not captain of the football team, but actual human being Bellamy Blake, she’d like a whole lot more.”

“You think so?”

“I know so.”

“I should probably apologize too, huh?”

“For what?” Monty asked.

“For biting her head off during our first session,” Bellamy replied, and Jasper face changed.

“You mean you haven’t?” Jasper exclaimed, then grabbed his pillow put I over his head and screamed into it. His best friend was going to be the death of him, of that he was sure. “Why am I not surprised?”

“He’s not one for apologies,” Monty pointed out.

“Honestly I have no idea what I’m going to do with you Blake,” Jasper laughed, and threw the pillow at Bellamy who caught it expertly.

“So that’s a yes on apologizing to her?” he asked jokingly as Jasper glared. “I’m kidding.”

“Sure you are.”

“Bring her coffee,” Monty pointed out.

“And a maple scone- she lives for those,” Jasper added.

“ Apologizing with coffee and a maple scone seems easy enough,” Bellamy conceded.

“Let’s hope for your sake it is,” Monty said as Bellamy threw the pillow at him, hitting him square in the face, and all three boys started cracking up.

—*-*-

“I know, I’m late, I’m so sorry,” he said as he entered their private study room.

“Whatever, honestly if you don’t care why are you wasting my time,” Clarke responded, grabbing her things but he got in front of her, effectively stopping her.

“I do care, okay? I care about my grades and I want this to work.”

“You had me waiting 40 minutes and the library will close any minute now. There’s no way we could do the session today.”

“I’m sorry, okay? Coach was being a douche and wouldn’t let me go.”

“And you didn’t think of sending a message? ‘Hey guess what I can’t make it because of coach,’” Clarke suggested, exasperated.

“I was in his office. There’s no way to sneak a text there or he would have chewed me out more than he already did. Come on, give me one last shot.”

“I’d love to but they are literally closing the library early today so we can’t do it here,” Clarke said as they headed towards the door, the same door the librarian was closing at that moment. Bellamy and Clarke ran towards it but it was too late, no amount of pounding on the door made them turn around. They were stuck here. Together.

“You have got to be kidding me,” Clarke muttered, sitting against the door.

-*-*-*-

Raven was sitting at the cafeteria with Octavia, waiting for Clarke to call.

“Still nothing?” Octavia asked as she came over with their coffees.

“Nothing, not even a text.”

“Maybe the session went overtime?” Octavia wondered.

“Maybe, but didn’t Clarke say they were closing the library early today?”

“Right, she did say that. I’m sure she’s on her way here, you know she can’t live without coffee and after a tutoring session with my brother she’s definitely going to need it.”
“That’s true,” Raven laughed, and then her phone rang. “Speak of the devil.”

“It’s like we summoned her,” Octavia joked as Raven picked up the phone.

“Hey Griff! Where are you?”

“I’m at the library.”

“But I thought you said they were closing it early today because of renovations or something.”

“Oh they did.”

“Please tell me you’re not.”

“I am.”

“You’re stuck inside the library?” Raven exclaimed, catching Octavia’s attention.

“A certain someone was late and we got into an argument and didn’t realize they had closed the door and as much as we pounded on it they didn’t hear us.”

“Wait, you’re stuck inside the library, with my brother?” Octavia exclaimed, taking the phone from Raven.

“Hello O!” Bellamy exclaimed from the background.

“Oh, this is priceless Clarke,” Octavia remarked.

“I’m glad you’re having fun with this, but I’m the one stuck inside a library…with him!” Clarke exclaimed.

“Hey!” she heard her brother interject.

“You want us to find a way to save you?” Raven asked, taking the phone back.

“Yes, please find a way to get us out of here.”

“Okay we’ll do the best we can.”

“Thanks Raven. Otherwise the team might loose their star player.”

“Don’t worry Clarke, we’ll fix this,” Raven laughed and hung up the phone.

“I swear this kind of thing only happens to her,” Octavia said.

“I know, and now let’s go make some calls to see if anyone can open that door, preferably before they kill each other.”

“Yeah, I like having a brother. I don’t want to lose him because my best friend killed him,” Octavia remarked.
“Yeah, that wouldn’t be good. I don’t know how Clarke would handle prison,”
“Let’s face it, she would probably be one of the bosses.”

“Definitely,” Raven agreed as they grabbed their coffees and walked out of the coffee shop.

-*-*-*-*-*-

The boys were hanging out on the field after their practice. They usually did this a few times a week, and normally Jasper and Monty joined them, but of course Bellamy wasn’t there considering he was stuck in tutoring.

“Do you think he made it?” Finn asked Jasper.

“I sure hope so because Clarke is not a person you keep waiting,” Jasper answered.

“That woman has single handedly restored my faith in humanity,” Miller stated.

“Why?” Atom asked.

“Because it shows us that Bellamy, although I adore the guy, does actually have flaws and isn’t always perfect.”
“And that even he can screw up around girls,” Monty pointed out.

“Seriously, every time he strikes out with her I just get happier and happier. This is good for his ego,” Miller stated.

“Yes, it gets his feet firmly on the ground, because let’s face it, the guy is my brother, no person loves him more than me, but he was getting a very big head and his feet were in the clouds,” Jasper told them.

“A few months ago he could have gotten any girl he wanted, now he’s in our room asking for advice how to deal with a certain woman,” Monty replied as they saw Octavia and Raven head towards them.

“Finn, isn’t that your girlfriend with O?” Jasper wondered.

“Hey babe, what are you doing here?” Finn greeted his girl.

“Well, we came to deliver the news and to ask for your help,” Raven told them.

“Help with what exactly?” Atom asked.

“Bellamy and Clarke are stuck inside the library and we need to get them out,” Octavia said, then recounted everything Clarke had told them, including the threats of maiming a certain football star.

“I swear karma is catching up to him, because it’s just his luck,” Miller laughed, but followed the girls and the rest of the guys towards the dorm area. They needed to figure out how they were going to get their fearless captain out of this one.

—*-*-*-

“Stop pacing you’re making me dizzy,” Bellamy stated from his place on the ground.

“We’re stuck inside a library,” Clarke responded.

“I know that princess, but there’s nothing we can do about it now, so why don’t you try to relax.”

“This is all your fault,” Clarke declared, but sat next to him. Bellamy started looking through his bag, ignoring Clarke’s perplexed expression.

“Here, I got this for you. Well, technically Jasper got it with my money while I was dealing with Coach,” Bellamy explained, handing her a bag.

“This is a maple scone,” Clarke stated when she looked inside. Maple scones were her weaknesses, how did he know? Had Octavia told him?

“I was going to bring you a coffee as well but I can’t hide a coffee inside my bag without it spilling and there’s no outside coffee allowed in the library,”

“You were bringing me coffee with a scone?” Clarke wondered.

“I heard maple scones were your favorite,” Bellamy muttered a bit nervous. Had he screwed it up, was it a vanilla scone rather than a maple scone?

“They are, but why?”

“I heard that apologies go down better with something the person likes.”

“Apologies?”

“Yes apologies, and can you please stop interrupting, I don’t normally do this.”

“Oh, right. Sorry.”

“Well a few weeks back we were getting along pretty well and I screwed it up and lashed out at you. I never apologized for that and I know I probably should have when it happened, but I didn’t want to revisit what had happened.”

“I’ve gone over that day a lot in my mind and I’ve always wondered why you got so pissed off. Did I do something?” Clarke asked.

“No, trust me when I say it didn’t have anything to do with you, you were just the target of my frustration. That wasn’t right of me so I apologize.”

“I accept your apology,” Clarke told him truthfully and then looked at him straight in the eyes, “but what got you so pissed off?”

“Remember how I got a call?” Bellamy recalled and Clarke nodded.

“Who called you that pissed you off so much?” Clarke wondered.

“Matthew,” Bellamy said, and with that word he’d said it all. Clarke just nods and he lets out a small laugh.

“What?”

“You’re the first person other than Jasper’s family not to ask why talking to my so called father is bad.”

“I’ve met him remember, I know how he is.”

“That’s true.”

“But since you mentioned it, what was so bad about this one? You weren’t just pissed, if you had been a cartoon you would have been entirely red and would have had fire coming out of your ears.”

“That’s quite the mental image.”

“It is, and for some reason I get the feeling you’re dying to talk to someone about it so spill.”

“He wanted me to confirm my attendance to dinner,” Bellamy started to say then stopped. She was Octavia’s best friend and the only person who knew about this was Jasper. For some reason he felt like he could trust her with this, “When I told him I didn’t feel like going he brought out his bargaining chip.”
“Which is?”

“Octavia’s allowance,” Bellamy muttered.

“What?” Clarke asked, confused.

“About a year ago Matthew decided that since there was no other way to blackmail me into going to dinner or do any other thing he wanted from me he’d use Octavia to get me to agree.”

“What are the terms exactly?” Clarke asked, shocking Bellamy once more. Most people would have told him he was lying, that he was just saying this for attention or some other bullshit reason.

“I go to dinner once a week and he doesn’t cut down Octavia’s allowance. He realized my weak spot. I really don’t care if he does something to me, I mean I haven’t needed him in my entire life and I don’t need him now.  But Octavia does need him, he’s her father and she’s the only blood-related family member I care about.”

“She’s your sister, you don’t want anything bad happening to her, I get that.”

“Octavia doesn’t know so can you please,” Bellamy said, trying to find the words.

“Don’t worry, I can keep a secret,” she said, and she saw the weight fall off his shoulders. “Am I the first person you told?”

“Thesecond. I told Jasper and made him promise not to tell.”

“Look, I’m not going to tell you how to live your life, but I think you should definitely tell someone about this, it’s not right.”

“I’ll keep that in mind.”
“That’s all I ask,” Clarke stated, giving him a small smile, which he returned, and offering him a piece of her maple scone. He grabbed a bit and muttered thanks.

“I just realized I never asked. Do you have any siblings?” Bellamy asked.

“I have a two year old half-sister named Laurie,” Clarke told him and took a picture of her sister out of her wallet. In the picture Clarke was smiling while carrying a smiling Laurie.

“She’s beautiful.”

“She is, and let’s face it, she’s the only reason I talk to my mother anymore, the few times I’ve actually talked to her I mean.”

“You want to talk about it?”

“You don’t want to listen to my issues.”
“You listened to mine,” Bellamy reminded her.
“My dad died in a bank robbery and my mom couldn’t handle it. I lost my father to death and I lost my mother to the hospital. She threw herself into her work, started working double and triple shifts, anything to stay away from home. Now I get what she must have been feeling, but back then? I didn’t get it- I was 14 and my world had been turned upside down. I needed my mom. I had just lost my best friend and my mom was nowhere to be found,” Clarke admitted and Bellamy put a hand over hers and squeezed. “She stopped talking to me, we’d had a pretty good relationship before that and it just fell apart. I was young and didn’t understand why she wasn’t there for me. I didn’t understand why my daddy wasn’t coming back and I needed my mom and I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to forgive that. The reason I didn’t lose myself was because of Octavia and Aurora, who seemed to be the only people to care about me. Not about my dad, or my mom, or what had happened, they cared about what happened to me.”

“They are good at that,” Bellamy murmured and Clarke nodded.

“By the time my mom came to her senses it was too late, the breach was too large and it just kept getting larger. She married Kane and ironically that helped for a little while, until I told her I wasn’t following in her footsteps and becoming a doctor.”
“I take it that didn’t go well.”

“Understatement. Let’s just say there was this big fight that ended in me moving out and not talking to my mom unless absolutely necessary. I got a scholarship and moved into an apartment with Raven.”

“You haven’t talked to your mother since then?”

“Not really, my stepdad pays for my part of the apartment and I have a good relationship with him but every time I have an actual conversation with my mother it ends in either screaming or tears or both.”

“Parents can really suck at times,” Bellamy stated, causing Clarke to laugh a bit.

“Yeah they really do, don’t they?”
“They claim to be the ones that know better but most of the time they are just winging it like we are,” Bellamy said and Clarke nodded.

“Since we’re already here, what do you say we get some tutoring done?” Clarke asked, changing the subjects and opening their books. They got to work and Bellamy smiled at her, thankful for the change of topic. Talking about their families was obviously getting to both of them, but Bellamy couldn’t shake the feeling that it was a good thing that they had opened up to each other. This thing could actually work, and for some reason that made Bellamy happy.

—*-*-*-

They were all reunited in Monty and Jasper’s dorm room trying to find a way to get their friends out of the predicament they were in.

“So how exactly are we going to get them out of there?” Finn wondered.

“No response from the higher ups?” Monty asked Raven, who had been in charge of calling someone to see if they could come open the door.

“Nothing, they don’t seem to care,” Raven said.

“Which means we’re going to have to take this into our own hands,” Octavia commented.

“The door locks from the outside right?” Atom asked.

“Yes, why?” Octavia responded.

“Is there any way we can pick the lock?” Atom wondered.

“The lock is too elaborate for that,” Jasper told them.

“How do you know that?” Miller inquired.

“It’s better you don’t know,” Jasper supplied.

“I’ve got an idea that just might work, and just might get us expelled,” Monty spoke up. “But before I tell you guys I need to take a few precautions.”

“Seems like my kind of fun- I’m in,” Atom stated.

“Me too, what would we need?” Octavia asked.

“Someone to jam the cameras of that door,” Monty explained.

“Finn and I can do that,” Atom said and Finn nodded, they were good with computers.

“Someone to create an explosion that won’t hurt us, just the door.”

“We can definitely manage that,” Raven stated.

“What’s your plan man?” Jasper asked.

“We’re going to blow up the door.”

—*-*-*-

“Do you want some chocolate?” Bellamy asked, handing her a Reese’s.

“I love Reese’s, they are my favorites.”

“Seriously?” Bellamy asked laughing.

“They are the perfect combination of peanut butter and chocolate, what could be wrong with that?” Clarke said, ready to defend Reese’s.
“I’m not laughing at that, I’m laughing at the fact that they are my favorite chocolates too.”

“Small world,” Clarke muttered.

“Definitely,” Bellamy said, biting a piece of his own Reese’s.

“Okay, here we go again. Tell me the difference between Expressionism and Impressionism in art,” Clarke instructed.

“The difference between Impressionism and Expressionism is the manner of expression. Expressionism depicts subjective emotions, not objective reality. The philosophies of Impressionists artists applied in their work widely differ in styles compared to earlier periods. They advocated working outdoors, and created certain visual phenomena by their intensive investigation, plus their study of dramatic effect of light and everything to achieve revelation in technical discoveries,” he stated, not noticing the way he had Clarke’s full attention.

“On the other side of the spectrum, expressionist painters show their emotions and personal views in their work. They portray subjective reality rather than realism. They incorporated things like fantasy and violence into their subject matter in order to show the extremes of emotion,” he finished his thought and saw the way Clarke was staring at him. “What?”

“That was pretty incredible.”

“Thanks I guess,” he said sheepishly. “You’re a good teacher.”

“Thanks, although I have to admit I’m surprised at how quickly you’re picking things up.”

“What, you thought I didn’t have a good work ethic?” Bellamy asked.

“No, I know you have a work ethic I’ve seen you on the field, you give your all to the things you care about, but sometimes you have nothing left for the rest.”

“It’s not just on the field,” Bellamy replied.

“What?”

“The reason I give my all on the field is because it’s what I’ve always done. If football could bring me money or recognition then that was good. I had to work after school because sometimes my mom’s job as a nurse didn’t bring in enough money you know?”

“Yeah, I know what that can be like, in a way. I mean I haven’t done it all my life but ever since I got here I’ve been striking out on my own and it’s a lot harder than I originally thought it would be.”

“It gives you a new outlook of life to say the least.”

“You’re different than what I thought,” Clarke pointed out.

“What do you mean?”

“Those first days you acted like an obnoxious rich jock. I honestly had you pegged as one of the rich assholes in this school that go through life riding on their parents coattails or basically relying on them to get them to places.”

“Okay, I admit those days weren’t my finest. I was trying to impress you.”

“Why would acting like a douchebag impress me?” she asked honestly, curious.

“I don’t know, the act worked with everyone else.”

“I’m not like everyone else.”

“Thank god for that,” Bellamy smirked and Clarke looked down, trying to hide her blush. They started at each other for what seemed like forever, no words were necessary, and then a loud bang broke them out of their trance. They ran towards the sound and saw their friends at the door, or what was left of the door. Jasper, Monty, Raven, Octavia and Miller at least looked sheepish.

“What was that!” Bellamy exclaimed.

“What did you do?” Clarke asked, at the same time.

“We thought you were going to kill each other!” Jasper exclaimed.

“So you blew up the door?” Clarke wondered.

“It was the only way to get you guys out of here,” Miller admitted.

“Well as you guys can see, we’re both safe and alive and we need to get out of here before someone realizes what happened,” Clarke stated as Bellamy came back with her things packed up.

“Here you go princess, now let’s go before someone comes,” Bellamy said, handing her her bag and she smiled at him, which went unnoticed by everyone, except Raven.

“I am so not getting fired for this,” Clarke said, leading the way out of the library, before turning to Octavia. “At least tell me the cameras were off.”
“What do you think we are? Amateurs?” Octavia responded.

“We jammed the camera signal, don’t worry Clarke,” Monty told her.

“I’ll see you tomorrow, Princess,” Bellamy smirked at her and she laughed.

“See you tomorrow, Quarterback,” she replied, earning a smile from him and another look from Raven. Something was definitely going on there. Raven just hoped it wasn’t what she was fearing.

—*-*-*-

They arrive at the apartment in record time, Clarke still couldn’t believe they had blown up the door. Raven had also been strangely quiet on the way, which was bizarre to say the least. They went inside the apartment and dropped their things off when Clarke  broke the silence.

“Okay, what’s up?”
“What do you mean?” Raven asked.

“You’ve been quiet the whole way here, you’re never quiet.”

“I’m just thinking, I guess.”

“Well you’re thinking rather loudly, spill it.”

“You and Octavia’s brother seem close, a lot closer than you used to be. I thought you couldn’t stand the guy.”

“I’m tutoring him and I figure it’s better to get along than to be at each other’s throats.”

“I’m just saying, it’s a big change from earlier today when you were about to drop him,” Raven stated.

“He apologized for the way he has acted; we’re being civil for Octavia and for all the classes we’ve got.”

“If you say so.”

“I don’t know what has you so worried.”

“He’s a charmer, Clarke.”

“I know that Raven…We are friends at most.”
“I just want you to be careful Clarke. I don’t want you to go through what happened with Wells again,” Raven stated, going into her room and leaving Clarke alone to her thoughts. This was nothing like Wells, Wells had been her boyfriend in high school and things had ended, badly to say the least. Bellamy and she were barely friends, it wasn’t the same situation not even close.

—*-*-*-

Clarke had been stuck in her thoughts all day and now it was time for tutoring. She met with Bellamy outside of the library, which was obviously closed. Apparently someone had tried to break into the library and had done some damage to the door.

“Well the library is closed, apparently some ruffians basically blew up the door,” Clarke commented.

“Now who would do a thing like that?” Bellamy retorted. “So where are we taking this session princess?”

“Raven and Finn have my apartment. How about yours?”

“Miller is there with his girl and she hates me.”

“And here I thought all women liked you,” Clarke joked.

“I had a one night stand with her best friend, I never called her,” Bellamy explained.

“Damn,” Clarke joked.

“Hey, I never said I would, I made things very clear. That she misunderstood is not my problem..”

“No, I get that you made the terms clear.”

“Exactly, but her best friend started dating Miller and let’s just say it’s not pleasant.”

“I bet. So where do we go.”

“I’ll state that I hate this but why don’t we go to Douchenozzle’s place, I have a room there that I never use- we could study there.”

“Okay, seems like a good plan,” she said as they reached the parking lot and Bellamy handed her a helmet.

“I think I’ll take a cab and meet you there.”

“Okay, but I think you’d like it.”

“Maybe.”

—*-*-*

They got there at around the same time, Clarke was paying the cab as Bellamy pulled up. They went inside and Aurora was the only one home at the moment. Clarke said hello but Bellamy just nodded. That’s when Clarke remembered Octavia’s comments about how Aurora and Bellamy got along. They had been in his room a while looking over the notes when she brought it up.

“I don’t want you to get offended by this, I’m just curious.”

“About what princess?”

“The way you treat Aurora.”

“What about it?”

“You don’t hate her, but you’re not nice to her either. I guess I was just wondering why.”

“The truth is she’s a pretty cool person but every time I look at her I see my mom taking double shifts to put food on the table, I see her having to miss a few of my games and other things because she couldn’t get out of work. I remember those first few Christmases where she made the gifts because we couldn’t really afford big things. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my childhood, it was fantastic, but mom never got her dream of being a stay-at-home mom,” he admitted, looking down.

“That’s completely understandable, but you should know something.”

“What?”

“Aurora had no clue she existed, she didn’t even have the slightest idea.”

“Seriously?”

“Seriously. Octavia was the one to find out, she never told me how. I remember O thought her mom knew and we were having dinner at our place. I remember because I still lived back home at the time. I remember it like it was yesterday, she wanted to know why her dad had never told her about being married before.”

“I take it that didn’t end well.”

“Understatement. Matthew said he’d never been married, Aurora asked why Octavia thought he had and she responded that she just wanted to know why she had never met her brother before. Everything went silent.”

“That definitely sounds like something O would do.”

“Aurora turned to Matthew and with the coldest expression I’ve ever seen on her face and asked him what she was talking about. He explained that he’d been with someone when they had broken up but clarified that the moment they reconnected he’d come back. She threw a glass at his head.”

“No,” Bellamy exclaimed, not quite believing it.

“Oh yes, they left and Aurora practically lived at our house.”

“Wait, she lived at your house? Why didn’t she kick him out instead?”

“She was pissed at him, but like she said, she’d always love him. She was ashamed.”

“Ashamed of what?”

“She felt badly that you had grown up without a father, she was worried about you.  When news of the accident came and the news that you were just 17 and needed someone to stay with she was the one that practically demanded you live with them.”

“I guess I never thought of things from her perspective.”

“Look, I’m not saying you have to look at her like a mother, but she cares about you. Don’t punish her for Matthew’s mistakes.”

“I’ll try,” Bellamy stated and they went back to their work. Bellamy was really getting the hang of it and for some reason that made Clarke really happy. Then their next interruption came, Matthew.

“I heard you were here.”

“Yeah, well we needed a place to study and this was the last place available.”

“You’re staying for dinner.”

“Sorry, I have plans, plus I need to get Clarke home.”

“Clarke can stay.”

“Actually Mr. Blake I have plans with my roommate,” Clarke invented. Actually, she had planned on staying with Octavia here tonight (Octavia was staying because her dorm was being cleaned) because of Raven and Finn using the apartment but she saw Bellamy needed an out so she figured she’d help.

“I’m sure you can cancel them.”

“No, I can’t actually.”

“Then we’ll call you a cab to take you home,” Matthew stated. “But my son is staying home for dinner and that’s final,” he said, closing the door behind him and locking it.

“Did he just?” Clarke asked shocked.

“Lock the door so I can’t get out? Yeah.”

“He does know you’re not a child right?”

“Yeah, I don’t think he cares as long as things happen the way he wants them.”

“He gave you a room where the door locks from the outside.”

“Actually that happened because I snuck out too many times.”

“That’s madness.”

“I gave up trying to understand Matthew Blake a long time ago,” Bellamy stated and started packing up his things.

“What are you doing?”

“We are getting out of here, unless you want to stay behind of course.”

“The door is locked,” Clarke told him, but put her things in her bag as well.

“Who said anything about using a door?” Bellamy said as he opened the window and got out.

“You’re insane Blake, your room is on the third floor,” she whispered as she peered out the window

“I’ve done this many times, Princess. Come on, live a little.”

“I can’t believe I’m doing this,” she said.

As she got outside the window, Bellamy grabbed her hand and they walked on the roof. Clarke was terrified and then they stopped. She saw Bellamy climb down the vine and then jump to the floor.

“You are insane!”

“Come on Clarke, I’ll catch you, I promise,” Bellamy said, completely serious. Maybe it was his tone of voice or the fact that he called her Clarke instead of a nickname that made her trust him.

“If I die, I’m coming back to haunt your ass,” she stated as she climbed down the vine. She located where Bellamy was and jumped. Sure enough he caught her with no problems at all.

“I told you I’d catch you,” Bellamy responded and then they realized the position they were in and he put her down. They walked over to his motorcycle.

“You don’t have a car we could use?” Clarke asked.

“You just got out of a three story mansion from the roof and you’re scared of a motorcycle? I’m telling you Griffin, you’re going to love it.”

“Is it safe?”

“You know if you’re scared we can walk but there’s some place I want to show you and it’s a bit far from here.”

“I’m not scared of anything, Blake,” she said, grabbing the helmet and putting it on. She got on top of the motorcycle and held on tight.  He smirked and they took off, leaving the Blake Mansion in the dust.

—*-*-*

Aurora watched as her husband came downstairs. When he put the keys on the table she knew he had locked up Bellamy, again. When was he going to learn that it was getting him nowhere with his son?

“Is Octavia home yet?”

“She’ll be home any minute now.”

“Bellamy and Clarke are staying for dinner.”

“Are they?” Aurora asked.

“It took a little convincing but he agreed in the end.”

“Or rather you locked the door so he couldn’t say no when he blew you off,” Aurora said as the door rang and a few seconds later Octavia was in the room.

“Hey mom, how was your day?”

“It was great sweetheart, and yours?”

“It was alright, nothing major happened. I just wish they would hurry up with the cleaning, I miss my dorm.”

“Your brother and your friend are here, apparently they were studying,” Matthew stated.

“Are they staying for dinner?”

“It wasn’t easy to convince them but I managed to,” Matthew stated, calling over one of the maids, he discretely passed her the keys without Octavia realizing and sent her to retrieve Bellamy and Clarke.

“Are they together, Octavia?”

“No, Clarke is just tutoring him in Art History.”

“Why he chooses those inane classes is beyond me,” Matthew muttered.

“Well, he is a history major,” Aurora remarked as the maid came back.

“Where’s my son?” Matthew asked.

“Sir, neither he nor Miss Clarke were in the room,” she said and Matthew took off running towards the room with Aurora and Octavia on his tail. Sure enough the room was completely empty.

“Guess he didn’t want to stay after all,” Aurora replied as Octavia laughed and took out her phone. Raven needed to know about this new development.

—*-*-*

They had stopped and Bellamy was helping her off the motorcycle.

“What did you think?” Bellamy asked.

“That was exhilarating,” Clarke laughed and looked around. They were in a parking lot?

“Told you, you’d like it,” Bellamy smirked as he put both helmets back on the bike.

“So you took me to a parking lot?” she wondered.

“Ye of little faith,” Bellamy joked but grabbed her hand and walked towards a door that read the 100.

“The 100?” Clarke asked.

“You’ll see,” Bellamy promised, opening the door and letting her go in before him. They went inside and Clarke was in awe of the place, it was like a restaurant bar with a stage. She was about to comment when she heard a voice.

“The prodigal son returns!”

“You’re an idiot,” Bellamy commented with fondness in his voice.

“Well, you’ve been gone so long!”

“I was here a week and a half ago, Wick.”

“Exactly a week and a half! Too long, my man,” Wick stated and then realized Clarke was next to Bellamy. “You brought a girl? You never bring girls here.”

“This is Clarke, she’s my tutor. Clarke Griffin, this idiot’s name is Wick.”

“Pleasure to meet you Miss Griffin, as Superstar just mentioned my name is Wick and I am the bartender here at the 100.”

“The pleasure is all mine,” Clarke responded. “What is this place?”

“It’s heaven on earth. It’s where the misfits come to become a really kind of fucked up family,” Wick stated.

“Ignore him, he’s a dramatic idiot,” Bellamy smirked.

“You love me, don’t lie,” Wick said putting an arm around him. “Well let’s go to the bar, I’m sure Cal and Sarah are dying to see you.”

“She’s going to kill me,” Bellamy muttered.

“Na, she loves you too much for that, but she might slap you,” Wick pointed out and Clarke laughed. They walked towards the bar and a woman came and pulled Bellamy into her arms.

“Where have you been?”

“We’re preparing for homecoming, Coach has been on my ass a lot, and douchenozzle keeps demanding I go to dinner. Plus I have a tutor who is kind of a hard-ass,” he, said smirking at Clarke

“Maybe she’s a hard-ass, but she’s going to remove a D from your record.”

“A D! Bellamy Oliver Blake what is this about a D?” she asked.

“O’Dell is a shrew who hates football players, we’re working on it ma, don’t worry.”

‘You better..” she muttered then looked at Clarke. “Oh shit, I haven’t introduced myself have I? I’m Sarah, Sarah Jordan.”

“Clarke Griffin, you’re Jasper’s mom right?”

“Yes I am, and I’m this idiot’s second mom,” she told her, then called for someone. “Cal! Get over here! “

“My husband Cal works at the kitchen sometimes,” she told Clarke as a guy wearing a plaid shirt came up to them.  He looked a bit like a lumberjack but he had a kind expression.

“Ohh, look who finally made an appearance.”

“Hey, you’re the one that taught me how to play football, so it technically your fault.”

“Well, have you seen Jasper with a football? The boy is hopeless and this way I got a son who’s a football star,” he joked then turned to Clarke. “You’re Clarke right, you’re Jasper’s friend.”

“Yes, I am. It’s a pleasure to meet you.”

“Oh the pleasure is all mine, especially if you manage to fix this one’s grades,” he laughed.

“There’s no respect,” Bellamy muttered, but Clarke could see he was smiling.

“Wick, don’t we pay you to work?” Sarah wondered.

“You do, and I should get back to that.”

“You do that and I’ll whip up some food for our duo,” Cal mentioned.

“Why don’t Bellamy and Clarke take their seats at the bar and I’ll prepare something special for our guest,” Wick mentioned, guiding Clarke to the bar. She took a seat and Bellamy sat down next to her.

“So, what do you think so far, Princess?” Bellamy asked.

“This place seems pretty great.”

”I did tell you you’d like it.”

“You were right Blake, cherish it because it doesn’t always happen,” she laughed. “So you grew up here?”

“More or less. My mom and Cal were friends growing up. Mom moved here and met the douche. She fell in love completely with all his fake promises, then left her with a year old baby and she was young and scared so she called her best friend. He moved his family here even though he was barely 18, his girlfriend was 17 and their son was 6 months old.”

“It’s why you don’t acknowledge Matthew, you don’t need to because you’ve got a father.”

“Pretty much. Everything I needed to learn about being a man I learned from Cal. He even gave me my first job, he’s part of the reason why I had a bit of an income when everything happened.”

“You worked here?” Clarke asked.

“Correction, he still works here,” Wick said from behind them. “He just doesn’t come as often because of school.”

“Don’t you have a job to do?” Bellamy remarked as Wick passed him a beer.

“I’m doing it. Milady, hope you like it,” he said passing Clarke her drink. She took a sip and loved it.

“This is delicious, thank you.”

“It’s my pleasure.”

“So what jobs did Bellamy do here?” she asked as Cal came back with food, which he placed between Bellamy and Clarke and then took his place next to Bellamy.

“When he was still underage he worked as a waiter and cleaning the place up a bit,” Cal answered.

“I can’t imagine you cleaning.”

“It was work and I wanted to help my mom out in any way possible,” Bellamy told her and she nodded, tasting the fries Cal had brought.

“These are delicious Mr. Jordan,” Clarke told him.

“Please Clarke, Mr. Jordan makes me feel so old, call me Cal.”

“Okay… Cal,” Clarke smiled then turned to Bellamy. “So you were a waiter and you cleaned, that was your fancy job?”

“He also sang,” Wick mentioned and ended up at the receiving end off Bellamy’s glare.

“You sing?” Clarke exclaimed.

“From time to time,” Bellamy responded.

“That makes a lot of sense actually.”

“Cliché jock who sings?” Bellamy joked.

“Something like that,” Clarke remarked and noticed the stage was empty. “Why don’t you sing something right now?”

“Seriously?”

“You should, I want to see how good you are.”

“Was that a dare, Princess?” Bellamy asked.  Sure maybe he hadn’t sang in a while, but he was never one to turn down a challenge, especially a challenge from Clarke.

“If that’s what gets up you up there then yes.”

“Okay, but you’ll have to sing with me after this,” Bellamy agreed and it was a good thing neither of them turned to look anywhere but at each other because otherwise they would have seen Cal and Wick look at each other incredulously.

“Deal Blake, now get up there,” Clarke laughed as Bellamy turned to Cal.

“Is my guitar still there?”

“Where it’s always been,” Cal nodded as Bellamy went to get his guitar. A few minutes later he appeared on stage and sat down on a chair with his guitar.  He started singing an acoustic version of Drops of Jupiter and Clarke was blown away by it. She had no idea he was this talented.

He kept looking straight at her and it was like the world fell away and then he looked away and she looked back to see Sarah, Cal and Wick looking shocked. That was strange.

“I thought you’d said this was his job,” she asked Cal.

“It was.”

“Then why do you all look so shocked?”

“Because Miss Griffin, Bellamy hasn’t sang in public since the accident that killed his mother,” Wick stated.

Clarke was frozen solid.

AN: If anyone has ever seen QAF the relationship between Debbie and Brian is a bit the basis for the relationship between Bellamy and the Jordans. This chapter was more around Clarke seeing Bellamy’s life and the next will be the opposite

Hope you all liked it! Remember to review!

Leave a Reply

